161-in-1 Multicart

Hawkeye

n00b
As much as I'd like to have all the original carts, the multicart is just so much more cost effective for me. I know a lot of people wouldn't stand for such blasphemy, but I'm new to this and I'm not a hardcore collector as much as someone who just wants to enjoy neo geo games. Plus there are plenty of other games not on the multi that I'll collect (Windjammers etc.) So I'm looking at the 161-in-1 and I've heard about some of the other multis being set on level 8 difficulty, not saving highscores, etc. Any disadvantages I should know about for the 161 in particular?

complexz

Rosa's Tag-Tea,
I've made this post a ton of times but I think it should be said if you are new to the neo.

I don't have any moral problems with a multicart really, my issue with multicarts is your basically oversaturating yourself with good games, I know that sounds silly but you have to understand that a good arcade game is not a few hours of casual quarter munching fun, these are deep games with challenges and scoring systems. You will only get the most of them if you really take one game and give it alot of attention.

If you get 161 games at the same time you most likely jump from game to game and never really dedicate love to one game the way you would be forced to if you just got one at a time. Some people have more willpower than others.. but for most people if you truly want to enjoy the neogeo for a long time I would personally say buy and enjoy one game at a time. it's more money in the long run yes, but for MVS it's still not a ton of money and it's a smaller investment in the short term..tons of games for under 50 bucks will bring you hundreds of hours of fun.

Hawkeye

n00b
I've made this post a ton of times but I think it should be said if you are new to the neo.