2-slot consolisation project

Adamaki

Haomaru's Blade Shiner
Well I got my 2-slot recently and I've been doing lots of research about how to consolise it but I've still got some unanswered questions. I know you guys are always willing to help out with this kind of thing so I thought I'd start a new thread seeing as I'll probably have plenty more questions as I work on it.

Btw I apologise in advance if I ask any really dumb questions. I don't know that much about electronics and I'm just learning as I go along. I've modified a couple of AES's now so this is my new project :glee:

Power supply first. I found this one:

http://www.maplin.co.uk/Module.aspx?ModuleNo=20691&TabID=1&source=15&WorldID=&doy=17m4

Is it suitable? This is the power socket I found:

http://www.maplin.co.uk/Module.aspx?ModuleNo=1407&TabID=1&source=15&WorldID=3&doy=18m4

I found the thread about tapping the sound from the headphone jack so I don't need +12v for the sound chip. Is this the best thing to do so I don't need the +12v?

This may be a dumb question but do I connect the ground pins on the JAMMA connector to the negative polarity on the power socket (outer ring)?

Do I need to connect all the ground pins and +5v pins on the JAMMA connector or just one of each?

Ok, onto video output. I'm in the UK so am using rgb straight from the board. I was thinking to add an 82ohm resistor into the red, green and blue lines to reduce the signal for my tv, like with the aes rgb bypass mod.

Any suggestions on what video output socket to use? I was thinking about using an 8 pin din the same as the aes. That way I could use the same scart cable from my aes. Am I correct in thinking I need a ground and +5v wired to the video output? If so would it be best to wire these from the JAMMA connector?

Do I need to install switches for the coin counters, service switch and test switch or can I just set the board to freeplay and forget about these?