monitor help for new member!

mastamuzz

Eager Beaver
I am posting this for a new member so Ill quote the message:

Alright, so I have an MVS 2-slot that I just recently moved to my new place. I've never had any problems with it before, but now when I go to play it, maybe about every 5th or 6th time the monitor goes black on me. Sometimes after 15 min. of playing other times after an hour. The game is still playing and I can hear all the sounds, but there is nothing on the screen. I opened up the back the last time it happend and noticed that the neck on the monitor was not orange, so I'm guessing it's a power issue. I examined the power cord and looked around inside for a possible loose connection, but everything seemed fine. Unfortunately I have zero tech knowledge , so from what I've scouted online I'm guessing could it be a diode or the horizontal transformer on the monitor board. I'm not sure though. I just want to fix whatever it is and don't know where to start.

Anyone hazzard a guess?

hope someone can help him this is completely out of my reach!

Dion

Known Scammer, NeoGeoFreak Co-Founder
He probably has a K7000 in there. They are very bad as far as cold solder joints go. If it is a K7000 he needs to remove the chassis and look for cracked solder joints. The reason why it works sometimes is that the components are making a circuit when its cold but as it warms up it flexes a bit and loses that connection. I just go over all of the solder points with my soldering iron. It takes time but is well worth it. Go ahead and do a cap kit while the chassis is out also.

Have him take pics of the monitor chassis so we can see exactly what monitor it is.

mastamuzz

Eager Beaver
thanks for your reply Mitsurugi-w!

I asked him to reply on this thread so he can explain with more detail the issue and to post some pics so he can get help!

NEO-GEO man

Fake account, shill troll for Christophe Ratel. Us