AES + MagicKey + 161-in-1, no sound at all

sTo0z

n00b
Well my fine gents, super noob time here as I am brand new to Neo Geo and jumped right in and still trying to swim.

I recently purchased a US AES system, the MVS Magic Key, and a 161-in-1 cart.

I know that setup is not officially supported to work, but before ordering I did see others talking about getting it working, so I figured I'd just go for it.

For the most part it works well, I have to hold down the bypass button thing on the MagicKey both when starting the system and when selecting a game, then the games seem to run just fine (tested 10 or so).

But as my title states, I never get any sound of any kind. It's not garbled or buggy or distorted, just really nothing at all.

I'm not 100% sure what is helpful info about my setup to share, so I'll just try my best based on what I see other folks mention:

* System is AES and is a US unit, serial # on bottom says "000146"
* I have not modified the system in any way, nor do I believe it was modified, stock BIOS, etc.
* Cleaned all the connection points as best I could, no difference in behavior.
* Power supply I have says PRO-POW-UL NEO-O, DC5V 3A
* I do have one original AES cartridge and the video/sound play just fine.

Is there any hope? :scratch:

Phexe

Quiz Detective
1.) MVS Magic Key's are dubious quality (soldering) at best
2.) 161-in-1's are pretty bad also.

You could open the Magic Key and check the soldering, or do the 161-in-1 fix here: http://www.neo-geo.com/forums/showt...ticarts-120-in-1-138-in-1-161-in-1-and-others

(Not intending this as dig at you as I had planned to do what you did also, but just started buying homecarts as reports of those two products were not too good, also seems some homecarts are actually getting cheaper than their MVS counterparts. Much to the chargrin of my wallet)

Last edited:

sTo0z

n00b
1.) MVS Magic Key's are dubious quality (soldering) at best
2.) 161-in-1's are pretty bad also.