Xbox original mod using a more current setup for a friend.

SNKNostalgia

Avid Neo-Expert
This is my first time messing with this mod and I have most of the concept down. I am just wondering about what HDD setup is best going for 500GB and reasonable price. Seems there are a lot of new things people are doing, like speeding up load times using an 80 wire IDE, remove super capacitor, etc... So I am a little lost on what is the best overall softmod and hardware build doing all of that.

Kid Panda

The Chinese Kid
Make sure to back up the Hard drive keys first if you haven't already.

NeuroticMoose

Super Spy Agent
thats very interesting. i had no idea this type of thing existed.

I did it with mine, probably didn't play much without the mod to be able to tell the difference, but supposedly it does cut down on load times and is super easy to install

NeuroticMoose

Super Spy Agent
This is my first time messing with this mod and I have most of the concept down. I am just wondering about what HDD setup is best going for 500GB and reasonable price. Seems there are a lot of new things people are doing, like speeding up load times using an 80 wire IDE, remove super capacitor, etc... So I am a little lost on what is the best overall softmod and hardware build doing all of that.

This seems kind of obvious but if you're running the softmod make sure you're using an official microsoft controller as with some of the softmod software a third party controller won't work, I was sitting on my mod for months just because I couldn't wrap my head around that