Those with kids.... Birthday parties

Endlessnameless

They call me Gringo,
Maybe it's because I am fairly new to parenting but I remember as a Kid, birthday parties being a huge deal. I never really considered myself popular but I always had quite a few people come to mine and the parties I would go to always had tons of people. Fast forward, I have a four year old in preschool and for the birthdays they give each student an invitation. The last one we went to, my daughter was the only child to show up. I happen to come across a thread online somewhere talking about birthday parties and that it is not uncommon to have nobody show up. Have any of you guys encountered this before?

LoneSage

A Broken Man
20 Year Member
never. if your kid has no one showing up then they done fucked up somehow. tell them to be less autistic and more protistic.

Liquid Snake

I am untouchable
20 Year Member
Maybe it's because I am fairly new to parenting but I remember as a Kid, birthday parties being a huge deal. I never really considered myself popular but I always had quite a few people come to mine and the parties I would go to always had tons of people. Fast forward, I have a four year old in preschool and for the birthdays they give each student an invitation. The last one we went to, my daughter was the only child to show up. I happen to come across a thread online somewhere talking about birthday parties and that it is not uncommon to have nobody show up. Have any of you guys encountered this before?

I've heard someone invites bunch of fire fighters after no one shows up in the party........................

mjmjr25

went home to be a family man
10 Year Member
Birthdays are still a big deal at the pre-school to 6th grade age - with the biggest years being 1st-3rd, in my experience with 4 kids, the last of which is in 1st grade now.