The art of PCB Cleaning: Which method is the safest and effective?

lowlight

Kuroko's Training Dummy
Hi all, :)

I'm relatively new to this hobby and have gotten well on my way with several purchases made here and elsewhere of various types of PCBs during the past month. However, since many of the PCBs I've recieved aren't too clean (moderatley dusty and a little grimy in some places), I decided to research the forums here to find out if there was one (or at least very few) tried-and-true methods of cleaning mulitple PCBs safely and effective to restore as much luster and functionality as possible. After searching, I came up with a lot of information concerning this issue and some helpful links as well (especially the one for MVS contact cleaning at HardMVS). Unfortunately, for every one encouraging idea that was presented in threads I found, there were at least two other negative criticisms of the idea that made me take pause. I've listed below a condensed version of all of the info I've gathered (There were a lot of variations of the same method, so I tried to tie them all together where applicable) concerning my question:

• Using hot running water/distilled water/(filtered water - Perrier was mentioned:kekeke:) and a toothbrush/scour pad (Scotch Brite was mentioned, I believe), lightly scour the surface of the board (both sides), towel dry, and then thoroughly blow dry and/or dry in an oven set to 75 degrees (farenheight).

• Using a clean dishwasher (free of food debris and other foreign substances), run soiled boards on a very hot cycle (Pots-&-Pans setting I assume?) and also set it to dry-assist (as opposed to "drip-dry"). Repeat as necessary (up to five times?). Also remove any power storing components and capacitors from the board prior to washing.