Just picked up a Neo Geo MVS 6 - Slot - help me!

Nuclear Neo

Kuroko's Training Dummy
Hi everyone, im fairly new to the neo geo scene and after a few weeks a neo geo MVS popped up for sale on ebay, today i picked up the Neo Geo MVS 6 slot arcade machine, they said it has a monitor fault but i figured id still buy it because they rarely pop up on ebay australia especially in the location i am at. it was 450.00 Australian dollars and it came with 4 games - so far im very pleased with it!

Upon turning it on, you can hear the start up sequence and then the game, the sound, coin mechanism, joystick, buttons they all work (i'm not sure about the game select button.... when i press the button it doesnt change to the next game it only seems to want to play the game in the 1st slot.

The screen however is just black and does not display anything whatsoever. I've figured that the motherboard works fine as it can detect the game and play the music that the game has, just the monitor does not display... i'm not sure if its the chassis or the monitor, im happy to replace whatever is the problem and i am willing to pay the price for it :)

Another question... the Neo Geo cabinet isnt in the best of condition, i wouldnt mind replacing the front control panel overlay and the side logo art sticker that says NEO-GEO - is it possible to buy replacements if so where should i look into getting replacements?

I will post some pictures as soon as i have the chance... does anyone know if im allowed to post website links in threads? Thanks

Xian Xi

JammaNationX,
15 Year Member
From what 6 slot owners have told me, they are very picky boards. You need to insert 1 cart at a time starting with the first slot. If the game in slot 1 works then insert another game in slot 2. If slot 2 game won't select use a different one until it works then move on to slot 3 and so on.

This is of course assuming your cats and contacts are clean and the backup battery isn't leaking.

ratson