Help with AES / best way to output to HDTV

Hey guys, I don't want to mod my AES just yet but I'd like to get better picture than the crappy composite. I see there are RGB SCART cables on ebay, but my HDTV doesn't seem to have a SCART input, but it does have VGA/HDMI/S-Video/etc. Is there some way I can buy the RGB cable and use an adapter to something else and will that screw the picture up or anything? Newb question maybe, but thanks in advance!

Last edited:

Fritz

Annex Florida Coalition, Goodwill Ambassador,
15 Year Member
There are tons of upscalers and converters our there, but I don't know if its a good idea to go composite -> s-video / component. Wouldnt that degrade the video quality somewhat by using composite first? I think you want to tap the RGB signal directly, ie like the JROK encoder. I am no expert so someone can correct me on that if I have it all wrong.

You said you dont want to do any modding, but I suggest the s-video AES mod. It takes advantage of the onboard sony encoder, so all you have to do is buy the kit Xian XI sells for $14.99 and follow the step by step guide on his site.

Xian Xi

JammaNationX,
15 Year Member
For HDTV the best option is an XRGB but it comes at a price. From what others have said you will spend about $300 minimum for something plug and play.

Mr.Kevums

Legend.,
20 Year Member
You really don't have many options when it comes to outputs on a non-modded console.

I'd consider modding it but I've never soldered anything before. It looks like from what you guys have said that modding would probably be the most cost-effective by far, though.

Fritz

Annex Florida Coalition, Goodwill Ambassador,
15 Year Member
Problem is still you may need an upscaler like the xrgb even with a JROK/NEOBITZ modded console. Depending on your specific HDTV it may or may not like the frequency and give you display issues like a blinking screen.