Help with a backup ram error mv1fz

giggsy07

Edo Express Delivery Guy
Hi guys.Turned on my mv1fz last night only to be greeted with the following message.
Ram Error
Address Write Read
00D00000 5555 0055
At first I could skip to aes mode and play away but now the graphics are messed up and the furthest I get is to the unibios screen with neo geo logo scrambled.I looked over the board and traces seem good although I'm no expert.No battery spillage either.Iv read posts on the forums here and got a lot of info but just to be sure id like some input before I start to attempt removing and replacing chips.Is this a case of replacing ram chips?Thanks guys

Last edited:

bustedstr8

Trollbox Trade Federation,
Like you said an error at 00D00000 is almost always corroded traces from the battery. If yours checked out I would probe the /WE /OE and /CE of the lower backup ram 62256 first before changing it. There could be other problems in the circuit like a bad LS32 or something.

giggsy07

Edo Express Delivery Guy
Cheers dude thanks.I noticed this now I must have missed it earlier and am wondering if this could be the culprit?image.jpg

bustedstr8

That trace above U17 lookes wasted. Check the resistance between the chip and the next pad or via.

giggsy07

Edo Express Delivery Guy
Thanks again and apologies for sounding like an idiot but how would I go about checking for resistance?I have a multimeter handy here but not a clue where to start.Again thank you for you're time sir..

bustedstr8

Select ohms and place probes onto two test point on either side of the suspect trace. A good reading is almost zero ohms.

giggsy07

Edo Express Delivery Guy
Thank you bustedstr8 il get to it and post back results.Very grateful thank you.

giggsy07

Edo Express Delivery Guy