Dreamcast to JAMMA.. Best WAY??

JustinS

Krauser's Shoe Shiner
Hey Guys,

Im sure that IM pretty late to the party but after a ton of hours worked I was able to save up and purchase a few Astro City cabs.
I am a Total Newbie on the subject and dont want to hack anything inside the cabs.

I have some PCBs but there is no way in the world I can afford some of the games I love including:

Street Fighter 3 3RD STRIKE
and Marvel Vs Capcom 2

I have heard that there is a pretty straight forward way to hook up a dreamcast to an astro city but its sorta hard to get clear answers about what works or doesn't work well.

MCGD?
Does some place still sell these?
Or
J-Pac From Ultimarc?
What works and doesnt work well?
I do own a J-pac but dont fully understand what is required for setup.
http://www.ultimarc.com/dreamcast.html

Is it just like this....??
Dreamcast > Dreamcast AV Converter > J-Pac > Jamma?

Your knowledge is appreciated.

Biohazard53

B. Jenet's Firstmate
i did it two ways, first way to purchase a jamma fingerboard and hack a Dreamcast VGA cable to allow 15hz, solder each pin from the cable to the jamma board plug in the jamma connecter and that's it. I never figured out audio so I just wired up some computer speakers it was sloppy which is why I went with option 2

end result, about $30
http://www.neo-geo.com/forums/showthread.php?t=206620

314rp55.jpg

second option, more viable but a little more expensive (about $110) is to purchase Viletim's Console to Arcade Monitor adapter http://shmups.system11.org/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=28069 currently he's sold out of them but they allow hook up practically any console through a SCART cable, this works beautiful as it allows the speakers in your cab to be utilized through the jamma connector as the board has a built in audio amp. I am currently using this for my astro for xbox 360/ps2 and dreamcast.

ifybdi.jpg

2wfsswo.jpg