Connected a 470uf cap to the wrong pin on the CXA encoder of Front Loader.

LordKirkis

n00b
Hey folks I'm pretty new to electronics and repair and would really appreciate any help with my Neo Geo CD. What happened was during a modification/ csync restoration I connected a 470uf 25v caps negative leg to the video pin and its positive leg was connected with 2 wires, 1 wire led to a 10kohm resistor which leads to pin 10 of the video encoder chip and the other wire went to 1830ohm resistor to pin 12 of the video encoder chip. And thats the mistake there I suspect.. as pin 12 is not ground but the power supply of half of the ic's circuit. So my question to you is; could powering the console power on in this state have caused damage to the chip or surrounding components? The game console boots, runs games, but I am seeing interference that look like scrolling, white moire pattern across most of the screen... and I also see very faint black smearing on some of the graphics that goes to the right side. I checked the voltage of the IC and all seems fine except pin 7 which is reading 4.7v when the info below says its suppose to be 1.7. I checked some of the nearby resistors and measured with a multi meter in circuit and found that some were off tolerance by 900ohms. Should I be measuring off circuit, is there anywhere else I should look? Thank you and appreciate any help you can offer.

Attachments

• 72048713998__DE2A7052-1D25-4828-9640-0518153BE38C.jpeg
    72048713998__DE2A7052-1D25-4828-9640-0518153BE38C.jpeg
    1.7 MB · Views: 4

Neo Alec

Warrior of the Innanet
20 Year Member
It sounds very possible, but I can't confirm if you fried it or not. You restored it to how it was and now it's doing something it wasn't before? Double check and redo the work.

There's such a variety of console mods posted online these days. This might be an unfortunate lesson that sometimes, especially if you're inexperienced, it's better to just leave well enough alone.