Any Apple Techs here?

Cylotron

ヾ(⌐■_■)ノ♪
15 Year Member
I'm a PC tech and haven't really done much with Apple stuff yet(a side from fixing ipads & iphones). Anyway, I picked up a Macbook Air off of Ebay recently. The listing just specified that it needs a new battery and that the screen stays grey when you turn it on.

I got the Air in the mail today. Verified that the battery does need to be replaced. However, when it turns on, it stays grey briefly.. then the screen goes blank(but the unit stays on). I tried booting from an external device(usb hd) that has various osx operating systems on it. It will come on and display the listing of OS' on the external drive & when I click on one, it shows the Apple logo and the spinning icon below it. It stays that way for about 30 seconds & then the screen goes blank again.

This happens with the Air's hard drive both connected and dis-connected. I proceeded to completely disassemble the laptop and thoroughly inspect everything. I also gave all the connections a good cleaning with alcohol and replaced the thermal paste on the cpu with some fresh arctic silver. Yet the laptop still does the same thing.

Anyone familiar with this problem? I'd rather just fix it myself.. but was told I could take it to an Apple store and they could diagnose it. Not sure how I feel about going into an Apple store... :emb:

NeoGeoNinja

Athena's Wardrobe Manager
Cdamm has pretty much all of it covered here.

What I will say from experience, Safe Boot (hold shift) often works and, if it doesn't, as a later resort, PRAM/NVRAM reset should work too.

If you can boot the Mac from a disc containing OS X (or your drive) then chances are, the HDD is having a moment. Might need a clean install. If it'll let you...

Cylotron

ヾ(⌐■_■)ノ♪
15 Year Member
I tried the Safe Boot & the PRAM/NVRAM reset. When I turn it on now, goes to a screen showing a circle w/ a line through it:
TS1411_1.gif