6 slot MVS troubleshooting (was No sound in Aero Fighters 2)

driph

Overtop Pathfinder
15 Year Member
Hey all, fairly new to the Neo-Geo world so I'm just starting to learn the ropes... got a 6 slot in a mini cabinet up and running, and while pretty much everything plays well (after a good cleaning), I can't get the audio to work on my Aero Fighters 2 cart. Is there something in particular I should look for? Would images of the cart boards help?

Last edited:

Jag-Master

"Hey, are we done here?..., Cause I'm losing my bu
15 Year Member
Post some pics and clean the board again and don't forget to clean the slots as well. Does audio work for any of your other games?

driph

Overtop Pathfinder
15 Year Member
Yep, cleaned both the board and slots, and audio works with other games just fine. My 6 slot is a bit finicky, but I can't get audio working with this title no matter what slot it's sitting in. Here's a pic of the boards:

2917411534_9a4f625498_b.jpg

chris1

POCKETBIKE NUT,
What kind of cleaning method are you using..?

Sometimes you have to go into the deep cleaning methods..

how does the game feel when sliding into the mobo..Real tight or does it slide in smooth..

Whenever games I get are dirty they slide in too tight and I know I'm going to have issues as I always do..
Once I clean the game real well it slides in smooth..

Also if the carts boards are being pressed on too hard by the shell warping them you can have sound issues

Not sure if clearing the back up ram cart memory
will help..

driph

Overtop Pathfinder
15 Year Member
I cleaned it based on the guides on hardmvs, just went over the contacts with an eraser and tested the cart again... everything plays well enough, just no sound.

Xian Xi

JammaNationX,
15 Year Member
On the CHA board check the soldering on both the S1 and M1 chips and make sure there are no cracked solder joints.

driph

Overtop Pathfinder
15 Year Member