2k2 tier woes

firebomber

Astra Superstar
I'm fairly new to competitive 2k2 and already i'm sick of the ABC teams.

What are some good counter strats/characters to beat Athena, Billy and Choi? I just can't find a reliable way to get in on these three. Any help is greatly appreciated.

I'm using Yash, Iori, K9999, Kula and Yuri mostly.

Takumaji

Master Enabler
Staff member
Athena - Most ppl's main tactics include zoning/fireball spamming and hit-and-run. Just use Kensou and give her a bit of her own medicine, qcb+P fireballs, followed by hcf+A or rdp+K if she jumps/zooms in. Mix it up with qcb+P while in air. His quick cD comes in handy after missed/whiffed Phoenix Arrow, and don't forget to abuse Kensou's qcf+K which has autoguard. Juggle with hcf+C afterwards, jump back to your side of the screen and continue spamming fireballs...etc. Kensou also has some nice BC cancel combos that are quite useful.

Billy - The stick, the damn stick... strategy is obvious, try to close in (harder than it sounds). Use Yuri's speed and keep your game mixed in order not to hit one of Billy's reversals, then back out as fast as you can and use projectiles. The running grab (slapping) is also good for hit-and-run. Remember, if Billy's stick is still flying towards you but has not connected or hit your block yet, you can still punish him, say with one of Yuri's dp+P's. Use the C version for more range and don't forget to do another one straight afterwards for an extra hit.