How common are fake MVS carts?

talks2wall

Host for Orochi
Joined
Apr 6, 2004
Posts
755
I started looking through eBay at the available MVS carts and most of the items for sale give me a weird, shady feeling. The carts themselves don't look legit and some seem to have forged labels, but they claim the cart is legit. I can't think of a good reason why anyone would put a fake label on an MVS cart. Is there a general consensus about how risky it is to buy MVS carts or is it just like buying anything else....look for a seller with a long and positive track record? Seems like folks are always posting about scammers.

pe@ce
MZ
 

Dean

Choi's Clawmaker
Joined
Jan 26, 2003
Posts
4,821
Quite common. Although many people relabel japanese carts with homebrew english labels so they can read them.

If you spot a questionable auction please feel free to post a link asking about it either in General or in Tech.
 

Cleatis

n00b
Joined
Dec 17, 2004
Posts
28
I do the bulk of my trading/buying within the trading community.
Buy/trade with people who are known within the community.
(Neo-Geo.com or DP)
The more business you do, the better rep you will have within the community and that can lead to good things. Kinda like having a doctor in the family.
Do business with the people who have been around for a while and have built a good rep of their own.
 

jro

Gonna take a lot
20 Year Member
Joined
Oct 11, 2004
Posts
15,163
talks2wall said:
Yep, that covers a lot of the ones I saw. Sorry, I didn't realize another thread was already covering it. This one also looked wacky: http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=62053&item=8156753647&rd=1

That one is absolutely boots-only. There is no such thing as a legit KoF 2004. Anyone who lists such a game on eBay is pretty much guaranteeing that everyone who knows anything at all about Neo games will never buy from them.

The first one, Yaton6262, is a safe auction to bid on. Yao does not intentionally sell boots, and other members have had no issues getting him to swap boots for real deals when he accidentally sells one. I personally consider Yao to be one of the better sellers on eBay, up there with MDgamesales and the like.

I agree with the earlier posts, though, it is much nicer to just buy from Japangamesnow, Arcadeshock, or the Neostore, so that you don't have to worry about boots, and browse through the selling forums before you buy anything on eBay. No eBay fee if you're the seller, people almost always make deals that are fair to both sides, and people are FAR more helpful to each other throughout the deal. I have gotten some killer stuff on these boards that I would have been scared to death to buy on eBay.
 

ttooddddyy

PNG FTW,
Joined
Nov 29, 2001
Posts
8,335
Ive never seen a mvs bootleg cart in real life, plenty of pics around here though.
imho in the big picture they are quite rare compared to the real thing.
In a way I wish I had a boot so that I could talk about it.
Having said that half of my jamma and pre jamma boardsets are bootlegs.
 

Gummy Bear

Windjammers Wonder
Joined
Apr 10, 2004
Posts
1,387
Possible bootleg.

Hi guys.

I purchased a KOF'98 a while back and the two boards are different colours.
Are these the signs of the dreaded bootleg?
 

roker

DOOM
20 Year Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2003
Posts
20,028
Gummy Bear said:
Hi guys.

I purchased a KOF'98 a while back and the two boards are different colours.
Are these the signs of the dreaded bootleg?

I like your user name, and it's ironic when you combine it with your avatar
 

Gummy Bear

Windjammers Wonder
Joined
Apr 10, 2004
Posts
1,387
super-saiya-jin said:
post some pics of your so called "boot" in the tech forum

Ok. Will do.

I shall dismantle and photograph it tomorrow.

Thanks.
 

galfordo

Analinguist of the Year
15 Year Member
Joined
Mar 14, 2003
Posts
18,418
Gummy Bear said:
Hi guys.

I purchased a KOF'98 a while back and the two boards are different colours.
Are these the signs of the dreaded bootleg?

Not necessarily. I've seen quite a few legitimate carts where one board was darker than the other. This, in and of itself, is nothing to worry about. Focus on the soldering, the roms (or eproms, as the case may be), and whether or not official SNK boards were used.
 

Gummy Bear

Windjammers Wonder
Joined
Apr 10, 2004
Posts
1,387
I've had a look and it all looks pretty neat.
They do appear to be SNK boards.

I can't post pictures. :confused:
Is it because I am new?
 

thegreathopper

NAM-75 Vet
20 Year Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2002
Posts
1,017
pics....

Gummy Bear said:
I can't post pictures. :confused:
Is it because I am new?

It is not because you are new, you have to have the pics posted somewhere and link them to this site.....
 

Gummy Bear

Windjammers Wonder
Joined
Apr 10, 2004
Posts
1,387
thegreathopper said:
It is not because you are new, you have to have the pics posted somewhere and link them to this site.....

Ahh, I see.

I don't think I need to any more, though.
I'm happy enough that it's a legitimate cart.

Thanks for the info. :)
 

Robert

,
20 Year Member
Joined
Dec 18, 2000
Posts
5,748
Like an other member said, buying from well known stores will avoid most of the problems.
 

Gummy Bear

Windjammers Wonder
Joined
Apr 10, 2004
Posts
1,387
Robert said:
Like an other member said, buying from well known stores will avoid most of the problems.

I bought it from eBay.

Surely the safest place to buy ;)
 

ttooddddyy

PNG FTW,
Joined
Nov 29, 2001
Posts
8,335
Gummy Bear said:
I can't post pictures. :confused:
Is it because I am new?

You need a host, I recommend http://www.photobucket.com/
Upload the image then place the url
with no gaps.
 

Gummy Bear

Windjammers Wonder
Joined
Apr 10, 2004
Posts
1,387
Here are the pics.

Dscn0465.jpg


Dscn0466.jpg


Dscn0467.jpg


They look like official SNK but they are different colours and they have different dates on the PCB's.

Curious.... most curious. :spock:
 
Top