MVS Monitor Woes in Alaska

Sllick50

NEST Puppet
Hi I have a MVS 4 Slot I picked up a while ago, over time the picture color on the screen has become more and more blue and the right side of the screen has like a wavy smokey look going on. I read on othe posts that it may need a cap kit. This is my first arcade I am new to it, I have never opened one up. I am in small town alaska and don't really know where to find someone who could fix it. Or where to get the parts. So my questions are.

1) Whats going on with my monitor?

2) How can i fix it?

3 Where can I find the parts and info?

THANKS

channelmaniac

Mr Neo Fix-it
15 Year Member
First off, can you solder?

There are places online to buy the cap kits but you need to find the make & model number of your monitor. Don't go by the big sticker on the side of the picture tube as that is the model number of the tube itself. Those are usually found on a sticker that is placed on one of the metal parts of the chassis or sometimes they are silkscreened (written in white paint) on the circuit board near the back edge.

Once you find that you will be able to order the correct cap kit.

You will need a soldering iron, solder, desoldering tool or desoldering braid, and assorted tools. I would recommend spending the extra money and getting a spring loaded vacuum desoldering tool.

Taking out the monitor board is simple with some exceptions.

First, get a long bladed screwdriver and a wire with alligator clips at both ends. Clip the wire to the screwdriver blade near the handle and to the metal chassis for the monitor. Slide the screwdriver up under the rubber cap on the side of the monitor and make contact with the metal under the center of it. If you hear a snap or a crackle then wait five minutes an repeat to fully discharge. Peel up the rubber and unclip the metal contacts from the hole in the side of the picture tube.