MV-1A color problems.

greedostick

Obsessed Neo-Fan
15 Year Member
View attachment 35428View attachment 35429View attachment 35430

This is my first MVS system and game. I'm hoping someone here can help me. The closest example I've found is this: http://www.neo-geo.com/forums/showthread.php?234580-MV1A-Display-Problem

Does this look like the same problem?
I don't quite understand what he does in that thread to fix it. Which specific components need to be replaced?

Any help would be appreciated.

I will let someone else chime in. I'm no tech expert, but I can promise that cart is clean and functional.I dismantled, and cleaned it a few weeks back,,and it has always worked perfect for me

dakone

n00b
No worries, the cart looks great. The problem is with my board. The color issues are present when I turn on the MV-1A without a cart also. (The last screenshot is from the bios only.)

Last edited:

aha2940

AH, A, COLUMBIAN!,
It seems the chips that create the different shadows of the red color are bad. I think mikejmoffitt (user in these forums) can give you more detail about what to check and how to fix it. If he does not chime in to help, try PM'ing him.

Regards.

Edit: It seems the exact same issue that Xian Xi had in the thread you linked. He can help you too.

Last edited:

Xian Xi

JammaNationX,
15 Year Member
Just like in the linked thread, it's the resistors in the video DAC. check all the values for red.

bustedstr8

Trollbox Trade Federation,
It's something in the DAC section. I would start by checking the red outputs on the 74273 latch. If those are good then check the resistors,traces and solder joints on the analog side. If they are bad you need to work back through the digital side, latch inputs/outputs, palette ram datas/addresses...etc

mikejmoffitt

Mickey's Coach