house broken into, neo collection untouched.

wyo

King of Spammers
10 Year Member
How does it works with collection of videogames? What value can be set on them? I dont think the insurance company is going to take in account the Neogeo Rarity List......

Any big tymer here can reply with how it works for them?

As a former insurance agent I can tell you it's generally based on "replacement value" not original purchase price. So yes, price guides and complete eBay listings would be valid methods of gauging insurance reimbursement. So use the NGK guide and go from there ;)

SuperMegaUltra

Geese's Thug
I'm sorry to read someone broke into your home and stole some of your more modern video games, pmoniez; but, I'm glad you still have all your SNK Neo•Geo cartridges. :)

novabomb

Krauser's Shoe Shiner
That sucks, sorry to hear man. Glad you still have your neo collection. I can't imagine how you must feel right now, anyways all the best.

Tron

Test
15 Year Member
Damn that sucks to hear you were robbed like that.At least the neo-geo was left alone,with modern games&consoles there easier to replace.

statix138

Crossed Swords Squire
That really sucks dude. Years ago when I used to travel for work someone broke into my work vehicle and stole my stupid Nintendo Wii but didn't bother touching a $10k fusion splicer sitting right next to it. I hope those idiots get hit by a bus.

Last edited:

pmoniez

n00b
Hi guys I thought I would give an update. We received our insurance settlement and are very pleased. They replaced our stolen Wii with a Wii u premium and our 3ds with a new 3ds xl. All other consoles have been replaced and we have a cash payout for everything else. The whole experience gave us a kick up the ass to buy our own house that we can secure how we like.
paying for decent insurance was definitely a wise move and I strongly recommend it to anyone with an expensive gaming collection. Thank you to everyone for the kind words.

statix138

Crossed Swords Squire