Good ways to improve your shmup game?

Takumaji

Master Enabler
Staff member
IMO, It's important not to over-practise or over-concentrate on a game. If you can't beat it at first, don't sweat it and play another game for a while, then go back to it and try again.

I remember when I started playing Strikers 1945 II religiously, my skills improved very quick at first, but for some reason I could not beat 1-5. I tried for nearly a month until I had enough, got pissed and stopped playing the game for half a year. Then one day I thought I should give it another go, jumped right in there and lo and behold, I beat 1-5 on the first try.

Practice is essential, no doubt about that, but if you keep on practising for weeks and don't see any improvements, it's time to start thinking about what you're doing wrong because otherwise your endless practice sessions will only make you very good at playing the game how it should not be played. :)

RBjakeSpecial

Land of the Rising Bling:,
20 Year Member
Takumaji- Great advice. I find that happens to me with every shooter. I reach a point that I can't pass and that's it. Dodonpachi level 3 boss, right now Mushihimesama level 4.

I think downloading all clear videos or watching people in the arcade would help. Also training you hand eye coordination by watching fast things. I turn on my TV and watch the static for hours. All those bullets and dodging yeah.......

I find a nice caffienated drink really helps and heavy metal music. Slayer and Coca cola. After about 3 cokes and your starting to shake and really violent music and you can dodge anything. Works for fighting games too.

Takumaji

Master Enabler
Staff member
RBjakeSpecial said:
Slayer and Coca cola.

heh

Mushihime, the meaning of pain
The way that I want you to die
Slow death, immense decay
Bullets that cleanse you of your life

:buttrock: ;)

RBjakeSpecial

20 Year Member
DUDE THAT MADE me laugh. I'm going to shout that at my friend next time I see him.