Japan MVS Garou glitchy control problem. Solved

Mad Mage

Edo Express Delivery Guy
20 Year Member
I got an MVS Japanese Garou (green box) from a neo-geo forum member who has a long standing.

The cart doesn't have much trouble booting up, and the graphics and sound work great, but the matches are always set to ten seconds and the controls are messed up (A = crouch, B = strong kick, C&D do nothing). Very weird. At any rate, I open the cart and took some pics. I am still pretty new to the Neo scene and while I know some things to look for when identifying a boot (EP roms, non-SNK chips), I do not know if these things guarantee it's a boot. So please take a look and give me some pointers. Also, it looks covered in flax (is that what the stuff used with solder is called?), which might be a dead giveaway. I suppose that wire shouldn't be there also. Well, I just wanted to be sure.

Thanks!

DSCN4064.JPG

DSCN4068.JPG

Last edited:

DanAdamKOF

Iori's Flame
20 Year Member
Well, I was going to say it looked legit (Amano Jacu has a very similar-looking one), but the control stuff has me stumped.

a.) Maybe your MVS' previous owner had changed MOTW's settings to that before selling it to you, but you didn't put in enough games to get rid of Garou's settings, and now it's back?

b.) Are you sure your controls are wired well? And they your mobo is getting enough power.

If I had to go out on a limb, I would say that I think it is legit, but that perhaps some of the program code is corrupted (EPROMS can have "bit-rot" but it takes a few years... then again, MOTW is a 5-year-old game now...).

But don't hold me to that.

Mad Mage

Edo Express Delivery Guy
20 Year Member
Well, I guess I'm glad to here it's legit. But I'm still at a problem.