Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Can I turn VGA to RCA???

  1. #1
    Timid Neo Newbie

    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Jersey
    Posts
    6

    Can I turn VGA to RCA???

    I'm trying to run a MVS on a standard Television.Now, I know how to convert video from the Jamma into VGA (splicing,and soldering into a VGA plug),but how can I convert that signal into Video for a standard Rca input for my standard res Television?N e one?Thanks!

  2. #2
    Ghost Of Captain Kidd
    300wins's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    San Jose, California

    Posts
    1,682
    You would need something that converts 15 KHZ RGB to something the TV can use. A JROK would be something to use.
    On "the list"


    Don't be a bitch and join SLASHCHAT, not FAGCHAT, aka, flashchat!

  3. #3
    Timid Neo Newbie

    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Jersey
    Posts
    6
    dude thanks,but whats a JROK?can you link me info.or where I can get one.

  4. #4
    Ghost Of Captain Kidd
    300wins's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    San Jose, California

    Posts
    1,682
    http://www.jrok.com/hardware/RGB.html

    That will tell you everything you need to know.
    On "the list"


    Don't be a bitch and join SLASHCHAT, not FAGCHAT, aka, flashchat!

  5. #5
    Charles Barkley Amano Jacu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Barcelona (Catalonia)

    Posts
    8,358

    Re: Can I turn VGA to RCA???

    Originally posted by Bolt Dizel
    I'm trying to run a MVS on a standard Television.Now, I know how to convert video from the Jamma into VGA (splicing,and soldering into a VGA plug),but how can I convert that signal into Video for a standard Rca input for my standard res Television?N e one?Thanks!
    I think you didn't understand this right... You can't connect a regular arcade board to a VGA just "splicing,and soldering into a VGA plug", you need some device like the XRGB that converts the 15 khz RGB video to VGA.

    If what you want is RCA (I would suggest s-video instead) you need a RGB to NTSC convertor like the JROK.

  6. #6
    Timid Neo Newbie

    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Jersey
    Posts
    6
    well gentlemen,I'm looking up the info on all this conversion right now.Although I was previousely suggested S-Video,but I have no input at all.My monitor is a Standard res rca input (TV).But what I dont understand is what needs to be converted just to get video.I've got a wring diagram for a VGA plug and what goes where.RGB Sync and ground(from the pcb) is all I need,correct?Then whats the problem in just converting VGA into RCA Video with just an adapter.
    Does anyone have a setup like mine?I dont own a cabinet but im planning on building a small (portable)portable version of one,and just want to connect it to a regular Television.What do you guys recommend for a budget of 50 bucks(its whats in my pocket now)?Thanks.

    BTW that JROK page does not load...checking connection.

  7. #7
    Charles Barkley Amano Jacu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Barcelona (Catalonia)

    Posts
    8,358
    The problem is that the low-res RGB output from a JAMMA board like MVS is 15 khz, while regular VGA monitors only accept 30 khz (or something like that). That's why you need an upscan convertor.

  8. #8
    Timid Neo Newbie

    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Jersey
    Posts
    6
    Hey Amano,
    I don't think you understand.I'm not trying to turn jamma to VGA,but simply trying to get a way to get jamma video on an rca(or composite video)television.Understand?I understand i need to convert Mhz but an Upscan converter allows me to play on vga,thats what I read.Although where i work,you can simply run jamma video into a vga monitor or any standard res monitor used in videogame machines,but they run for about 200-400 us dollars.
    I mean ,am I better off bying a nice sized Television with S-video?will it have ok picture quality?what is the best type of video to get good picture quality on a monitor?
    I do appreciate youre help,but i need more Q's answered,still researching.Thanks.

  9. #9
    Robert Garcia's Butler

    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    1,280
    there is no simple way of conversion. you need a circuit that converts R, G, B and synch into composite video. that can't be done by just hooking up synch + GND, since arcade boards simply don't output composite video.
    --
    Arakon

  10. #10
    Timid Neo Newbie

    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Jersey
    Posts
    6
    Ok,that i can understand.But,HOW do I get video to work then?

  11. #11
    Mizuki's Demon
    Decepticon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    New Orleans

    Posts
    3,037
    Originally posted by Bolt Dizel
    Ok,that i can understand.But,HOW do I get video to work then?
    You buy a JROK and use it to convert the RGB over to composite.

  12. #12
    Timid Neo Newbie

    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Jersey
    Posts
    6
    Gentlemen,Thank you all.I've solved my problem with JROKs part.I should of just listened to 300Wins in the first place.Now I can move onto the next step in my mini arcade jig.btw SNK is F'in sweet.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •