Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: NGCD power problem

  1. #1
    Hair Group
    Baseley09's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Pompey yo!

    Posts
    6,737

    NGCD power problem

    Hi, my NGCD top loader has a problem, when i turn it on, the power light flashes on and off like a bleeper, the power wont stay on........

    It was doing it before, i punched it to work, now this technique wont work.

    Ive held the button down, no joy, wiggled the power cord, no joy.............must be internal, any ideas?

    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Hair Group
    Baseley09's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Pompey yo!

    Posts
    6,737
    Please, this kills me.

  3. #3
    Athena's Wardrobe Manager
    zapatistab's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Somewhere in California knocking on your door, handing you a WatchTower!

    Posts
    2,284
    Quote Originally Posted by Baseley09
    Hi, my NGCD top loader has a problem, when i turn it on, the power light flashes on and off like a bleeper, the power wont stay on........

    It was doing it before, i punched it to work, now this technique wont work.

    Ive held the button down, no joy, wiggled the power cord, no joy.............must be internal, any ideas?

    Thanks in advance.
    I've never opened mine up, but I would open it up and check the connections. Often times, things like this usually are bad connections or a faulty button. At least with older systems.

  4. #4
    Hair Group
    Baseley09's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Pompey yo!

    Posts
    6,737
    Yeah ive opened her up a few times to have a snoop, cant see anything definative.

  5. #5
    Andy's Clothes Designer
    Superfamifreak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Riho Futaba's gusset

    Posts
    3,316
    Had the same problem with my laptop. Could be dry joints which was what was up with mine. Check the soldering on the power unit.
    The greatest of all time: Fernado Carlos Redondo
    http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v2...ps29ad660e.jpg
    My Play-Asia referral link.
    Great people I've dealt with that haven't left me feedback:
    SaturnFan, Proffesser, Rugal2000, SuperPang, elbarto, TheIrishMan, Duddyroar, japangamesnow, Dreamstationx, Dogtoy, Rising Tackle, D-Lite

  6. #6
    Chin's Drinking Partner

    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Portage, IN, USA
    Posts
    2,779
    Maybe you beat the shit out of it a little too much??

    Seriously, what the hell were you thinking??

  7. #7
    Andy's Clothes Designer
    Superfamifreak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Riho Futaba's gusset

    Posts
    3,316
    Quote Originally Posted by RiotoftheBlood
    Maybe you beat the shit out of it a little too much??

    Seriously, what the hell were you thinking??
    So you've never tried the old 'If it doesn't work, hit it' approach?
    The greatest of all time: Fernado Carlos Redondo
    http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v2...ps29ad660e.jpg
    My Play-Asia referral link.
    Great people I've dealt with that haven't left me feedback:
    SaturnFan, Proffesser, Rugal2000, SuperPang, elbarto, TheIrishMan, Duddyroar, japangamesnow, Dreamstationx, Dogtoy, Rising Tackle, D-Lite

  8. #8
    Hair Group
    Baseley09's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Pompey yo!

    Posts
    6,737
    Quote Originally Posted by Superfamifreak
    So you've never tried the old 'If it doesn't work, hit it' approach?
    Blatantly, it's the classic technique to make stuff work.

    Wives included.

  9. #9

    NEOGEOman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    brisbane.au

    Posts
    286
    NeoCD power cables are pathetically brittle. The connector that plugs into the system breaks internally, so that the wires don't make good contact all the time. It happens a LOT. I have about 20 dead power supplies.

    You can test this by repositioning the wire. They CAN be fixed, but you have to knife open the connector and solder the wires to the metal pegs inside. It's a huge PITA, but if this is your problem the only solution is cut-n-solder or tape the wire somewhere so it doesn't move when it's in a working position.
    It used to be so easy.

  10. #10
    Chin's Drinking Partner

    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Portage, IN, USA
    Posts
    2,779
    Quote Originally Posted by Superfamifreak
    So you've never tried the old 'If it doesn't work, hit it' approach?
    Maybe when I was 13...

  11. #11
    Hair Group
    Baseley09's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Pompey yo!

    Posts
    6,737
    Quote Originally Posted by NEOGEOman
    NeoCD power cables are pathetically brittle. The connector that plugs into the system breaks internally, so that the wires don't make good contact all the time. It happens a LOT. I have about 20 dead power supplies.

    You can test this by repositioning the wire. They CAN be fixed, but you have to knife open the connector and solder the wires to the metal pegs inside. It's a huge PITA, but if this is your problem the only solution is cut-n-solder or tape the wire somewhere so it doesn't move when it's in a working position.
    Cheers, sounds plausible, though its taken an awful long time to break heh.

    Sounds maybe my best option is to get a new psu, or borrow one to see if this is the actual problem.

  12. #12
    . Bigbert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Singapore

    Posts
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by Baseley09 View Post
    Cheers, sounds plausible, though its taken an awful long time to break heh.

    Sounds maybe my best option is to get a new psu, or borrow one to see if this is the actual problem.
    Is this a PSU problem? My Neogeo CD power LED light only blink for a while and won't stay on after power on.

  13. #13
    NEST Puppet
    RyuX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    Location
    Austria

    Posts
    179
    Did you measure the voltage on the inside of the connector ?
    Also check all of the inductors on the power board (they should have no or low resistance).

    Most likely you have a short circuit on a cap that pulls down the power and the power supply will supply voltage - then it drops - then it will resupply voltage.. So first thing would be to measure the power supply by itself (voltages), then plugged into the neo geo cd.
    After that is done you could measure the resistance from 10V to GROUND and 5V to GROUND and report back the values.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •