Results 1 to 24 of 24

Thread: Colors are bleeding on Neo Geo Aes

  1. #1

    darmrt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, America

    Posts
    97

    Colors are bleeding on Neo Geo Aes

    I currently own an Aes rev 3_6. After cutting the traces (jail bar fix)to improve the RGB I noticed that the colors appear to be bleeding. It makes the picture look slightly blurry. I also notice that I have this connection on the board which was not present when I had a different 3_6 rev. If I remove this will this fix the color bleed issue? If not, how can I fix the issue?

    Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
    Wii Friend Code
    4902 1748 8767 9111
    PM me and I will add you if you have added Mii

    PS3 gametag
    Raoh200X

  2. #2

    darmrt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, America

    Posts
    97
    Ok, after looking closer at my screen it seems that there is a slight issue with the white bleeding. I have included a photo for detail. Is there a fix for this? I am also using an ossc even with optimal timing I still get this result. Any help would be appreciated.

    Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk

    Last edited by darmrt; 10-04-2020 at 12:00 AM. Reason: Added pics of mod
    Wii Friend Code
    4902 1748 8767 9111
    PM me and I will add you if you have added Mii

    PS3 gametag
    Raoh200X

  3. #3
    Kula's Candy
    DasiyAge's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    United States

    Posts
    306
    How are you hooking this up to your display? Assuming RGB Scart? This looks like luminance shift which can be cause by certain converters.
    Also take off that resistor leg tied to the ram. It looks like someone tried to mod it for PAL? Not really sure but it shouldn't be necessary and might be causing the issue.
    Last edited by DasiyAge; 10-04-2020 at 12:26 PM.

  4. #4

    darmrt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, America

    Posts
    97
    I am using a scart cable and ossc to connect to the monitor.

    Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
    Wii Friend Code
    4902 1748 8767 9111
    PM me and I will add you if you have added Mii

    PS3 gametag
    Raoh200X

  5. #5

    darmrt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, America

    Posts
    97
    I cut the resistor leg and it is still the same. After a Google search I found that may not have cut the traces correctly. After trying to remove the traces, which I was not able to do. I just scraped them away as best I could, still the result is the same. I can say it seems as if the jail bars come and faintly. This occurred after I cut the resistor leg, I think! I did not have this issue with my prior motherboard. The only difference is that there was a resistor leg on the ram, on the current one I own. Is there anyone willing to shed a little light on this?

    Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
    Wii Friend Code
    4902 1748 8767 9111
    PM me and I will add you if you have added Mii

    PS3 gametag
    Raoh200X

  6. #6
    Basara's Blade Keeper
    MKL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Pordenone, Italy

    Posts
    3,682
    Pin 64 of the LSPC2 is the 50-60Hz pin. Grounding (what the zero ohm resistor/jumper does) or leaving it unconnected (as on MVS boards) sets 60Hz. Tying it to 5V (bridging the pads in the white square) sets 50Hz. I don't think there is any benefit in leaving the resistor vs removing it. Still, NTSC consoles came from the factory with the jumper so you may want to restore it (if you can do a nice solder job).

    The cuts on the RGB traces aren't nice. I think cuts on PCBs are never nice and you can get a better result by peeling off the traces altogether. I see your cuts even went on a trace that should have been left alone so you should run a continuity test and make sure the RGB traces are actually open and the other trace is intact.

  7. #7

    darmrt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, America

    Posts
    97
    I performed a continuity test and the trace I accidentally hit while cutting the rgb traces is closed. The other traces are open. Unfortunately, I am still getting the same result. I did manage to peel some traces off. However, I am making what seems to me to be a bigger mess of the spot where the traces are. I will continue to try and peel the traces away. Scratching the pcb doesn't hurt anything unless you cut a trace, correct? I haven't seen any real difference so, I may have answered my own question. Just trying to find the root of the issue with my whites bleeding. It makes the picture look washed out.

    Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
    Wii Friend Code
    4902 1748 8767 9111
    PM me and I will add you if you have added Mii

    PS3 gametag
    Raoh200X

  8. #8
    JammaNationX
    Xian Xi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Waipahu, Hawaii

    Posts
    27,610
    Is your TV's brightness set to default?

  9. #9

    darmrt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, America

    Posts
    97
    I am using a benq monitor. I have not touched any of the default settings. My other systems are ok running scart through the ossc. I had an aes prior to this one that is working fine.

    Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
    Last edited by darmrt; 10-06-2020 at 03:39 PM.
    Wii Friend Code
    4902 1748 8767 9111
    PM me and I will add you if you have added Mii

    PS3 gametag
    Raoh200X

  10. #10
    Genjuro's Frog
    Digmac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Lolifoxgirl's basement in the West Korean slums

    Posts
    1,156
    The 3-5 and 3-6 rev AES consoles put out pretty bright and saturated RGB. I get white bleed on my 3-5 with an RGB bypass if my brightness and contrast are set to their default levels. Once I turn them both down a tad, the bleed is gone. I’m using professional LCD monitors (Sony LMD) with a SCART to BNC setup, but I would imagine it could work on any monitor.


    http://www.neo-archive.com

  11. #11

    Neo Alec's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    USA

    Posts
    8,885
    Quote Originally Posted by Digmac View Post
    The 3-5 and 3-6 rev AES consoles put out pretty bright and saturated RGB. I get white bleed on my 3-5 with an RGB bypass if my brightness and contrast are set to their default levels. Once I turn them both down a tad, the bleed is gone. I’m using professional LCD monitors (Sony LMD) with a SCART to BNC setup, but I would imagine it could work on any monitor.
    Use higher resistor values if you're not happy with what the mod guide recommends.

    Per Firebrandx, use a Framemeister A/D level of 160 for an unmodded console, and a setting of 130 or so for one with an RGB bypass. Stock consoles have pretty dim RGB.
    https://basementbrothers.net/

  12. #12
    Genjuro's Frog
    Digmac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Lolifoxgirl's basement in the West Korean slums

    Posts
    1,156
    Quote Originally Posted by Neo Alec View Post
    Use higher resistor values if you're not happy with what the mod guide recommends.

    Per Firebrandx, use a Framemeister A/D level of 160 for an unmodded console, and a setting of 130 or so for one with an RGB bypass. Stock consoles have pretty dim RGB.
    The RGB video had a little bit of bleed even before the RGB bypass. I really think it's down to monitor settings. My monitor setups have physical dials for the video settings on the front of the video processor, so it was an easy fix.


    http://www.neo-archive.com

  13. #13

    darmrt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, America

    Posts
    97
    Ok, I am still having the issue with my whites bleeding. I have uploaded a video showing how changing the brightness changes nothing. This is true for contrast and sharpness as well.

    https://youtu.be/A1oYJWSrCwo

    Sent from my SM-G781U using Tapatalk
    Wii Friend Code
    4902 1748 8767 9111
    PM me and I will add you if you have added Mii

    PS3 gametag
    Raoh200X

  14. #14
    JammaNationX
    Xian Xi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Waipahu, Hawaii

    Posts
    27,610
    Increase the resistance on the output to bring it down. Or if you want, drop the 3kohm resistors on the voltage divider to 2.8k.

  15. #15

    darmrt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, America

    Posts
    97
    Quote Originally Posted by Xian Xi View Post
    Increase the resistance on the output to bring it down. Or if you want, drop the 3kohm resistors on the voltage divider to 2.8k.
    Ok. Which would be easier to do? How would I increase the resistance on the output? Also, where is the voltage divider?

    Sent from my SM-G781U using Tapatalk
    Wii Friend Code
    4902 1748 8767 9111
    PM me and I will add you if you have added Mii

    PS3 gametag
    Raoh200X

  16. #16
    JammaNationX
    Xian Xi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Waipahu, Hawaii

    Posts
    27,610
    The output would be in the cable you are using. The voltage divider are the resistors that are 6.8k and paired with another, in the 3-6 it should be a 3k.

  17. #17

    darmrt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, America

    Posts
    97
    Quote Originally Posted by Xian Xi View Post
    The output would be in the cable you are using. The voltage divider are the resistors that are 6.8k and paired with another, in the 3-6 it should be a 3k.
    Ok. It looks like I will go with dropping the 3kohm resistors to 2.8kohm resistor. Just to be certain, all I have to do is replace all the 3k ohm resistors with 2.8k ohm resistors? What wattage should I use on the resistors?

    Sent from my SM-G781U using Tapatalk
    Last edited by darmrt; 10-12-2020 at 05:36 AM.
    Wii Friend Code
    4902 1748 8767 9111
    PM me and I will add you if you have added Mii

    PS3 gametag
    Raoh200X

  18. #18
    JammaNationX
    Xian Xi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Waipahu, Hawaii

    Posts
    27,610
    Yes the 3 resistors on that area. 1/4 watt resistors 1%. If it’s really bleeding a lot, maybe even 2.7k.

  19. #19

    darmrt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, America

    Posts
    97
    Quote Originally Posted by Xian Xi View Post
    Yes the 3 resistors on that area. 1/4 watt resistors 1%. If itís really bleeding a lot, maybe even 2.7k.
    There was no change when I swapped out the 3k ohm resistors for 2.7k ohm resistors. So, I put the 3k ohm resistors back in. I did discover something with my composite video now. I don't think it has anything to do with resistors as it happened with both sets of resistors. I would like to know could this be because of how I did the rgb mod? Here is a current pic of the mod and some video of what's going on. Sorry if I offend anyone with the mod, I just couldn't get the traces to peel away.
    https://youtu.be/wvgelOx07aQ

    Sent from my SM-G781U using Tapatalk
    Wii Friend Code
    4902 1748 8767 9111
    PM me and I will add you if you have added Mii

    PS3 gametag
    Raoh200X

  20. #20
    JammaNationX
    Xian Xi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Waipahu, Hawaii

    Posts
    27,610
    If you only plan on using RGB, it would be easier to do the RGB bypass. Use 150ohm resistors from the DAC to the AV socket. Retro RGB has a tutorial on how to do it.

  21. #21

    darmrt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, America

    Posts
    97
    I would really like to keep the composite. I was able to fix the flashing, which I guess was a sync issue, in composite. But, now it's black and white(all grayscale). RGB is still bleeding white but has color. Could it be that a chip is starting to fail? I restored the resistor leg and fixed some broken traces with jumper wires in the area where I cut/scraped the traces. I would like to know if there is any other place I should check for continuity? I am just trying to avoid having to check every trace on the motherboard.

    Sent from my SM-G781U using Tapatalk
    Wii Friend Code
    4902 1748 8767 9111
    PM me and I will add you if you have added Mii

    PS3 gametag
    Raoh200X

  22. #22
    JammaNationX
    Xian Xi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Waipahu, Hawaii

    Posts
    27,610
    Quote Originally Posted by darmrt View Post
    I would really like to keep the composite. I was able to fix the flashing, which I guess was a sync issue, in composite. But, now it's black and white(all grayscale). RGB is still bleeding white but has color. Could it be that a chip is starting to fail? I restored the resistor leg and fixed some broken traces with jumper wires in the area where I cut/scraped the traces. I would like to know if there is any other place I should check for continuity? I am just trying to avoid having to check every trace on the motherboard.

    Sent from my SM-G781U using Tapatalk
    If you want to keep composite then you'll need to adjust the voltage divider by a lot more to bring down the levels going into the encoder, if 2.7k didn't do much then do a 2.2k.

  23. #23

    darmrt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, America

    Posts
    97
    Ok. Maybe I am asking the wrong question. This may be what I should be asking: Is there a pinout for the encoder? Is there some schematic for the component or components that display the colors? I would like to know so that I may continue to look for broken traces with continuity test. I was able to correct some but as I said I need to know where else to look. It seems that just the white is bleeding to the right. I know that red, green, and blue combined makes white so I am thinking something is not connected within the color displaying components.

    Sent from my SM-G781U using Tapatalk
    Wii Friend Code
    4902 1748 8767 9111
    PM me and I will add you if you have added Mii

    PS3 gametag
    Raoh200X

  24. #24

    Neo Alec's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    USA

    Posts
    8,885
    Yeah, there is. Just search for the data sheet for that chip.
    https://basementbrothers.net/

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •