Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: AES hot power supply

  1. #1
    N00b of Syougi Knud's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Location
    Iceland

    Posts
    207

    AES hot power supply

    My AES original power supply is running very hot. I am using a 230V converter to 110V which deliveres 100W. The power supply input is rated 19W, output is 10V 1A. Says on the bottom POW3

    I am wondering if the Arcade converter is power hungry? Since i am running MVS games. Do you think the power supply is just done. At the moment i do not own an original AES game to check if it is just the converter
    Last edited by Knud; 09-04-2020 at 02:57 PM.

  2. #2
    Geese's Thug
    DasiyAge's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    United States

    Posts
    277
    What converter are you using? AFAIK they should just be pin swaps and there aren't any powered components. If you have a multimeter you should check what amperage and voltage is coming out of the tip. Also is the converter you're using a passive meaning plug into the wall adapter or is it an actual stepdown transformer? To me it sounds like your power supply is still getting 230v and the excess heat is part of the exchange. I would be careful plugging this into your AES until you find out what's wrong. Best solution is to find a new power supply like these https://www.digikey.com/product-deta...140-ND/6165635
    Use this guide to find the right PSU which means you will need to open your AES and confirm the board inside because labels cannot be trusted http://www.firebrandx.com/aespsuguide.html
    All of the information is from a very respected member of the retro community, here is the full webpage http://www.firebrandx.com/triads.html
    You'll need to scroll down to find the AES section.

  3. #3
    Angel's Love Slave
    Digmac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Lolifoxgirl's basement in the West Korean slums

    Posts
    1,052
    Quote Originally Posted by DasiyAge View Post
    What converter are you using? AFAIK they should just be pin swaps and there aren't any powered components.
    MVS to AES converters are powered and are not just passthrough devices. This puts extra strain on the power supply. It’s recommended to use a slightly higher powered PSU when using things like MVS to AES converters or flashcarts like the NeoSD.


    http://www.neo-archive.com

  4. #4
    N00b of Syougi Knud's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Location
    Iceland

    Posts
    207
    I am using the Arcade converter. I will open the console and have a look what type it is

    But did it really happen that it came with 10V power supply but had 5V components inside?

  5. #5
    Geese's Thug
    DasiyAge's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    United States

    Posts
    277
    I am more concerned about the type of 230-110 converter you are using. If it's not correctly lowering voltage then that could be the cause of the heat.

  6. #6
    N00b of Syougi Knud's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Location
    Iceland

    Posts
    207
    https://nedis.com/en-us/product/ener...hed-usa-output

    Why should it not be lowering the voltage? It can output 100W and power supply is 19W it should not lead to overheating, it must be the power supply or that i am using the MVS converter

  7. #7
    JammaNationX
    Xian Xi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Waipahu, Hawaii

    Posts
    27,599
    The internal power circuit in the AES limits the amount of current being output.

  8. #8
    N00b of Syougi Knud's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Location
    Iceland

    Posts
    207
    Opened it, and it is 3-6 with the 9v internal regulation. I will just grab a new one from Digikey

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •