Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 26 to 42 of 42

Thread: Help Starting - 2 Slot Cabinet

  1. #26
    Genbu's Turtle Keeper
    shadowkn55's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    SoCal

    Posts
    2,386
    It's not hard if you know what you are doing. A unibios would solve most of your problems. It allows access to the test menu through the control panel.

  2. #27
    Geese's Thug
    DasiyAge's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    United States

    Posts
    277
    Unibios is also incredibly helpful with diagnostics and calibration. What model 2 slot is that? I can't find a matching one on MVS Scans. If you want to test which connections will open the test screens all you need is some wire. Put one end on ground and the other on M or 15. Whichever gets you to that screen is the right one
    Edit: Doing it this way will also tell you if the switch is hooked up correctly or if you have a JAMMA harness. You could always just buy a new MVS harness. Probably not a bad Idea anyway since that one's probably getting old anyway.
    Last edited by DasiyAge; 08-27-2020 at 04:40 PM.

  3. #28
    .
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    Orlando, FL

    Posts
    25
    Interesting I'll try that. So just do that after powering on? What kind of wire? Which ground would I connect it to? The thing at the bottom of the cab or one of the grounds in the harness? Maybe it's the same either way... learning some basics here. And then I assume do that with the test switch on?

    Sorry it's actually a 4 slot pcb but the cab is a 2 slot.

    Sent from my SM-N920V using Tapatalk

  4. #29
    Geese's Thug
    DasiyAge's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    United States

    Posts
    277
    Still couldn't find a match on mvs scans, interesting board lol. Anyway you can use anything conductive honestly but you'll need to have a way to see the video out put. The jamma harness should still leave a bit of the pins showing behind it so you can use those spaces, just make sure you remember which pins are what. Turn it on and use pin 14 as your ground as its right about the middle of the connector, and then try touching one of the pins I mentioned. One of them will take you to the hardware test, and that is the one that you wanted wired on the harness.

  5. #30
    .
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    Orlando, FL

    Posts
    25
    Regular 4 slot I believe. Here's what I was looking at. Went ahead and switched it to M and Test Switch is working!!! Looks like it was wired to 15 which would be Jamma. Right?

    Thanks so much for your help! Now I just need to fix my monitor issues and get this cab fixed up.

    Sent from my SM-N920V using Tapatalk

  6. #31
    Geese's Thug
    DasiyAge's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    United States

    Posts
    277
    There's a few 4 slot revisions but none of them had the controller ports where yours was, that's why it's interesting. Awesome man looks like you got the harness pretty much done. You should make sure you have connections on D and 26 so that you can select games.

  7. #32
    Genbu's Turtle Keeper
    shadowkn55's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    SoCal

    Posts
    2,386
    Having controller ports in the back is pretty standard for the MV-4.

  8. #33
    .
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    Orlando, FL

    Posts
    25
    Only have one game but believe my Select Game button working. Do you guys know where my horizontal width control is? Wondering if it's the blue thing in the below pic. Wherever it is... can I adjust that with the game on or do I need to shut down and discharge the monitor every time I tweak it?



    Sent from my SM-N920V using Tapatalk

  9. #34
    .
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    Orlando, FL

    Posts
    25
    Or maybe this white one?



    Sent from my SM-N920V using Tapatalk

  10. #35
    Geese's Thug
    DasiyAge's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    United States

    Posts
    277
    Do you have the monitor model number? I would look for a schematic.
    Shadow - I see, I haven't had any 4 slots so I just go off of MVS scans. I know they don't have every board on there but you'd think they'd have a scan of it if it's that common :/

  11. #36
    Genbu's Turtle Keeper
    shadowkn55's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    SoCal

    Posts
    2,386
    Quote Originally Posted by DasiyAge View Post
    Do you have the monitor model number? I would look for a schematic.
    Shadow - I see, I haven't had any 4 slots so I just go off of MVS scans. I know they don't have every board on there but you'd think they'd have a scan of it if it's that common :/
    It's right here.

    https://www.mvs-scans.com/index.php/MV4

  12. #37
    Geese's Thug
    DasiyAge's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    United States

    Posts
    277
    What the fuck, must have slipped past me lol. Thanks

  13. #38
    .
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    Orlando, FL

    Posts
    25
    Hey peoples... I need the model for the chassis right not the tube? Tube is a Zenith, but all I can find on the chassis is a serial number that yields nothing on Google. Thoughts? Thanks so much again.

    Sent from my SM-N920V using Tapatalk

  14. #39
    Geese's Thug
    DasiyAge's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    United States

    Posts
    277
    The tube model number will probably include the chassis schematics.

  15. #40
    .
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    Orlando, FL

    Posts
    25
    Thanks will look. Think I'm going to shift gears though and not mess with that quite yet as I got it pretty good without tweaking that setting. Going to tackle joysticks and buttons next...

    What's the best solution for cleaning joysticks, buttons, the art overlay etc.? Soapy water? Windex and an old t shirt? Alcohol? Thanks so much.

    Sent from my SM-N920V using Tapatalk

  16. #41
    Geese's Thug
    DasiyAge's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    United States

    Posts
    277
    For joysticks alcohol and a rag or some kind of non abrasive cleaning wipe. If you're disassembling the stick then some compressed air and alcohol on the gnarly parts and regrease it with plastic safe grease. art overlay I'd use soapy water and a non abrasive rag. I don't recommend paper towels because they leave pieces behind and it's annoying to clean them up. Disassemble the buttons and clean the plastic parts in soapy water and I'd also toss in the ball/bat top of the joystick. Obviously let everything dry completely before you put it together again. Good luck!

  17. #42
    .
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    Orlando, FL

    Posts
    25
    Awesome thanks so much!

    Sent from my SM-N920V using Tapatalk

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •