Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: IGS PGM/Color issue/No Red

  1. #1
    Bashful Neophyte
    CHAOS 0187's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Florida

    Posts
    19

    Unhappy IGS PGM/Color issue/No Red

    Hello. So I fired up my PGM today and noticed that I was missing the color red. On the screen, I can see blue and green but the color red is missing giving the game a bluish and green tint. I checked the RGB on the test pattern screen and the red bar is blacked out. I cleaned the contacts, checked the boards, tried it on another SG, tried in on the Big Red cab and nothing. Same result. I checked the traces and they all looked fine. Anyone here has had that issue? Any help would be appreciated.

  2. #2
    Cholecystectomy Required.
    ggallegos1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Milford, CT

    Posts
    4,201
    Do any of your superguns have RGB pots that can be adjusted by chance?
    "I am the master of my fate. I am the captain of my soul."
    Switch FC 0965 2531 6217
    http://backloggery.com/ggallegos1/sig.gif
    Quote Originally Posted by ObeyMyEgo View Post
    ggallegos1 Is a cock sucking faggot. That is all.

  3. #3
    Bashful Neophyte
    CHAOS 0187's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Florida

    Posts
    19
    Quote Originally Posted by ggallegos1 View Post
    Do any of your superguns have RGB pots that can be adjusted by chance?
    Yes, I adjusted the pots and no luck.

  4. #4

    Neo Alec's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    USA

    Posts
    8,885
    Could be the caps, but double check your jamma connector first. I've had cases where I thought the colors were out on some of my boards, but it turned out to just be a cheap jamma harness on my supergun not making a good connection to some of the pins.

    I started to figure it out when I noticed that all my boards missing colors were missing the same color, and the problem would come and go.
    https://basementbrothers.net/

  5. #5
    Bashful Neophyte
    CHAOS 0187's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Florida

    Posts
    19
    Quote Originally Posted by Neo Alec View Post
    Could be the caps, but double check your jamma connector first. I've had cases where I thought the colors were out on some of my boards, but it turned out to just be a cheap jamma harness on my supergun not making a good connection to some of the pins.

    I started to figure it out when I noticed that all my boards missing colors were missing the same color, and the problem would come and go.
    My CPS2 and MVS boards look great with no missing colors. I ordered up another PGM mobo since they are pretty inexpensive to see if it's the board. I was thinking maybe a trace or a cap but the traces look fine. The caps are not lose.

  6. #6
    NEST Puppet
    Dr. Meat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Austin, TX

    Posts
    172
    Quote Originally Posted by CHAOS 0187 View Post
    My CPS2 and MVS boards look great with no missing colors. I ordered up another PGM mobo since they are pretty inexpensive to see if it's the board. I was thinking maybe a trace or a cap but the traces look fine. The caps are not lose.
    The caps in these are terrible and extremely prone to failure. Console5 sells a cap kit for it. Wouldn't hurt to swap em all out.

  7. #7
    Bashful Neophyte
    CHAOS 0187's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Florida

    Posts
    19
    Just ordered up some caps. Thanks for the info to all who replied.

  8. #8
    Dogg-Father
    Neodogg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Cincinnati, OH

    Posts
    3,619
    I had the same issue several years back, it was due to the battery leaking...
    _ _ ___________________________ _ _
    People I've delt with:
    |Steve Rhine|Vinh|Jeff Kurtz|Kenny Boy|Big Bear|Fox1|Bones|Kid Aphex|Bluevoodu|Kubikiri Basara|Shawn|Michael Yagami|

  9. #9
    Bashful Neophyte
    CHAOS 0187's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Florida

    Posts
    19
    Quote Originally Posted by Neodogg View Post
    I had the same issue several years back, it was due to the battery leaking...
    I checked the battery. It has a coin cell holder there. No leaking. I just got the caps in today. I'll replace them when I have a chance and post an update soon.

  10. #10
    We have purposely
    trained him wrong
    ...as a joke.
    ChuChu Flamingo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    US

    Posts
    2,190
    Keep in mind only 2-3 PGM motherboards came with a coin cell battery mod iirc. I believe revision 14 is the one that has it officially.

    What this means is that these were installed afterwards, probably after the battery cum cannoned everywhere and leaked. I doubt most chinese operators cared to clean it up properly since pgm motherboards are plentiful over there.

    A lot of these boards were not treated well from my experience and have tons of hours.So If I were you I would inspect around that area and check for cold solder joints (relatively common) and damage. . The capacitors they use are also low quality and prone to bulging/leaking.
    Last edited by ChuChu Flamingo; 07-07-2020 at 07:17 AM.
    健康第一
    Health comes first

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •