Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 26 to 39 of 39

Thread: 161 in 1 version 2?

  1. #26
    Armored Scrum Object
    CloudGamerX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    United States of Americans

    Posts
    265
    Quote Originally Posted by daskrabs View Post
    Is the AF3 bug fixed? Did they update the MotW rom from proto to legit?
    Nope and Nope. The ROMs behave exactly the same.

  2. #27
    H = Heinously
    M = Massive
    G = Gonad
    HMG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Canada

    Posts
    4,497
    Quote Originally Posted by CloudGamerX View Post
    Nope and Nope. The ROMs behave exactly the same.
    How about Garou+? That rom is on there

  3. #28
    Armored Scrum Object
    CloudGamerX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    United States of Americans

    Posts
    265
    Quote Originally Posted by HMG View Post
    How about Garou+? That rom is on there
    Crashes

  4. #29


    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    323
    Does it work with the Universe BIOS 4.0's Pick-N-Mix feature?

  5. #30
    Armored Scrum Object
    CloudGamerX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    United States of Americans

    Posts
    265
    Quote Originally Posted by Clear Paper View Post
    Does it work with the Universe BIOS 4.0's Pick-N-Mix feature?
    I can't seem to get it to work. One other difference I found is League Bowling is removed. I am going to go over the game list and see what other games were removed.

    I wasn't completely sure at first, which is why I said maybe a couple of games were changed out. But now it would appear that is the case, so now it's just a game of figuring out which games got removed and which games were added in their place.

    One other thing, this thing absolutely hates the unibios v4.0. All the hacks except SVC Chaos, seem to crash.

    During my testing, Kabuki Klash was also crashing when set to AES mode. When I change it to mvs mode, I still get a little bit of graphical corruption but otherwise the game is stable. Not sure if that's just a bug with the UniBios, or the 161 in 1.
    Last edited by CloudGamerX; 07-11-2020 at 04:29 PM.

  6. #31
    H = Heinously
    M = Massive
    G = Gonad
    HMG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Canada

    Posts
    4,497
    Did you try holding select before powering up the MVS? Keep the button pressed until the Unibios splash screen appears.

  7. #32
    Armored Scrum Object
    CloudGamerX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    United States of Americans

    Posts
    265
    I would test again, but my CMVS is currently shipped out for signal evaluation. I want to make sure my voltages are safe on the RGB lines.

  8. #33
    drunk downunder!
    aka. Muff Diver.
    lachlan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    A Hard Earned Thirst

    Posts
    15,779
    Quote Originally Posted by CloudGamerX View Post
    I would test again, but my CMVS is currently shipped out for signal evaluation. I want to make sure my voltages are safe on the RGB lines.
    Safe? You just add 120-150ohm resistors on each of the RGB lines to bring the voltage down to 0.7v. I've never heard of anyone sending their CMVS off for 'signal evaluation' before, sounds like you're being fleeced.

  9. #34
    Hollywood Hulk Gohan GohanX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Hollywood, CA

    Posts
    11,436
    Quote Originally Posted by lachlan View Post
    Safe? You just add 120-150ohm resistors on each of the RGB lines to bring the voltage down to 0.7v. I've never heard of anyone sending their CMVS off for 'signal evaluation' before, sounds like you're being fleeced.
    Watch your tongue, you're going to make The autists screech.

  10. #35
    Armored Scrum Object
    CloudGamerX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    United States of Americans

    Posts
    265
    Quote Originally Posted by lachlan View Post
    Safe? You just add 120-150ohm resistors on each of the RGB lines to bring the voltage down to 0.7v. I've never heard of anyone sending their CMVS off for 'signal evaluation' before, sounds like you're being fleeced.
    Not really. I don't have an oscilloscope, and I used an encoder circuit that I am also not familiar with entirely. In addition, I have been getting some strange ripple noise in my video signal. So, I sent it off for inspection, to make sure I am not overvolting or undervolting. If it is within proper spec, then I am having them find the source of the rippling noise.

  11. #36
    H = Heinously
    M = Massive
    G = Gonad
    HMG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Canada

    Posts
    4,497
    Voltage is voltage. As long as it’s all within the 0.7v spec, it’s safe to use. SNK didn’t use crazy fancy circuits to build the AES.

    The rippling would be due to noise and interference from somewhere else in the system.

  12. #37
    Armored Scrum Object
    CloudGamerX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    United States of Americans

    Posts
    265
    I know that, I do console mods as a service. My issue is, without an oscilloscope, I can't make sure that my consolized mvs is actually done right. Also, the video noise is not the normal garden-variety video noise that you would get from either lackluster modification work, unshielded cables, or using a poor power supply. It's like some weird Rippling effect that is visible on composite and S-Video, but only visible in RGB when you look close. I speculate that it's some sort of frequency noise, caused by the oscillator Crystal. But just to confirm, I sent my console to someone that I know has some credibility to his name.

    When it comes to something like arcade Hardware, I'm not going to just take someone's word for it unless I actually see measurement numbers. I want to see the measurements they get from probing the output with an oscilloscope and showing the results.
    Last edited by CloudGamerX; 07-12-2020 at 05:46 PM.

  13. #38


    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    323
    Quote Originally Posted by CloudGamerX View Post
    I can't seem to get it to work. One other difference I found is League Bowling is removed. I am going to go over the game list and see what other games were removed.

    I wasn't completely sure at first, which is why I said maybe a couple of games were changed out. But now it would appear that is the case, so now it's just a game of figuring out which games got removed and which games were added in their place.

    One other thing, this thing absolutely hates the unibios v4.0. All the hacks except SVC Chaos, seem to crash.

    During my testing, Kabuki Klash was also crashing when set to AES mode. When I change it to mvs mode, I still get a little bit of graphical corruption but otherwise the game is stable. Not sure if that's just a bug with the UniBios, or the 161 in 1.
    Thanks for the reply. I suppose a good test would be to see if it runs stably with a normal BIOS. It does sound like a low voltage issue though.

  14. #39
    drunk downunder!
    aka. Muff Diver.
    lachlan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    A Hard Earned Thirst

    Posts
    15,779
    Quote Originally Posted by CloudGamerX View Post
    I know that, I do console mods as a service. My issue is, without an oscilloscope, I can't make sure that my consolized mvs is actually done right. Also, the video noise is not the normal garden-variety video noise that you would get from either lackluster modification work, unshielded cables, or using a poor power supply. It's like some weird Rippling effect that is visible on composite and S-Video, but only visible in RGB when you look close. I speculate that it's some sort of frequency noise, caused by the oscillator Crystal. But just to confirm, I sent my console to someone that I know has some credibility to his name.

    When it comes to something like arcade Hardware, I'm not going to just take someone's word for it unless I actually see measurement numbers. I want to see the measurements they get from probing the output with an oscilloscope and showing the results.
    That reminds me I better get an update from NASA on the position of the Earth in it's solar orbit so I can calculate the date. I just won't take the calendars word for it or yours! I must see the measurements.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •