Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: KOF 95 graphical glitches

  1. #1
    .
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Location
    Brazil

    Posts
    20

    Question KOF 95 graphical glitches

    I got this KOf 95 and some graphics were glitched out.

    Graphics like impact effects, fire, blood, rain, some Characters in the intro, the little monkey on the Italy stage, the girls at the background on the Woman's Team stage, etc, were affected.

    All those graphics are stored in c7 and c8, so I replaced them with 2x 27c800. The graphics came back but now they have vertical lines on them, the rest is fine.

    The Neo Dev Wiki points out that "Cut or stuck C ROM data lines create vertical lines which move with sprites", but i can't find any broken traces.

    Any advice on what to do next?

    Spoiler:





  2. #2
    SHOCKbox Developer
    BIG BEAR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Philadelphia,PA
    Posts
    7,161
    Reflow your NEO-273 chip.
    BB
    In case of 'PM BOX FULL ANXIETY' , E-MAIL ME

    bigbearatdreamamusement.net replace "at" with an "@"

    I'd like to sincerely THANK everybody that supported SHOCKbox over the (EST 2001) 8 - 9 years I did it.
    http://www.dreamamusement.net/photos/sth.gif is stocking the SHOCKbox right now!! They also have a huge library of SHOCKbox inserts for DL and or printing.
    LE GEEK SHOCKbox inserts

    I'm not protecting myself from you....I'M PROTECTING YOU FROM ME.
    SKYWAY PRO Keep this a secret!

  3. #3
    .
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Location
    Brazil

    Posts
    20
    Quote Originally Posted by BIG BEAR View Post
    Reflow your NEO-273 chip.
    BB
    No deal, same thing. I will change the ls chips and see if does anything.

  4. #4
    Maxima's Barber
    shadowkn55's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    SoCal

    Posts
    2,357
    Changing the LS chips probably won't do anything. A data line probably got disconnected in the process of replacing the roms.

  5. #5
    SHOCKbox Developer
    BIG BEAR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Philadelphia,PA
    Posts
    7,161
    Make sure you soldered every point in on the replaced roms
    BB
    In case of 'PM BOX FULL ANXIETY' , E-MAIL ME

    bigbearatdreamamusement.net replace "at" with an "@"

    I'd like to sincerely THANK everybody that supported SHOCKbox over the (EST 2001) 8 - 9 years I did it.
    http://www.dreamamusement.net/photos/sth.gif is stocking the SHOCKbox right now!! They also have a huge library of SHOCKbox inserts for DL and or printing.
    LE GEEK SHOCKbox inserts

    I'm not protecting myself from you....I'M PROTECTING YOU FROM ME.
    SKYWAY PRO Keep this a secret!

  6. #6
    .
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Location
    Brazil

    Posts
    20
    Well, that's weird.
    Someone donated me a kof 95, but with no sound.
    I took off the c7 and c8 of that board and put it in the one with graphical glitches.
    The graphics with problems came back and with no glitches. So that's solved.
    Read the two m27c800's and the crc didn't match the mame roms.
    Burned two new ones and put it in the cart with no sound, graphics worked with no glitches this time.
    Since the new cart has no sound i burned a new m1 using an AMD 27c010, and the game still has no sound.
    I've read in this thead that the neo zmc can affect the music too, so i think i will try to replace it too.

  7. #7
    .
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Location
    Brazil

    Posts
    20
    Just an update.
    Changed the Neo Zmc and the sound came back.
    The ground pad underneath was corroded too, but with continuity, but I patched it just to be sure.
    So if you change the m1 and still has no sound the problem must be the neo zmc.
    Thank you all for the help.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •