Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Error on boot: ERRORID008

  1. #1
    .
    Join Date
    May 2020
    Location
    Owasso, OK

    Posts
    2

    Error on boot: ERRORID008

    Good morning all,

    First post here and first NeoGeo cabinet in my little home arcade. Hello!

    Finishing up a light restore on my NeoGeo and came across an issue I can't seem to find a reference for. Image searches turn up null, as does the error code I am seeing.

    Image below says it all.

    Same error whether or not a cart is in, an examination of the motherboard, while showing some age in spots, reveals traces in good order, no visible corrosion on any of the components and aside from a little dust here and there; it looks in pretty good nick.

    Screen repeats several characters across all columns, revealing ERRRID008

    neogeo.png

    Any info appreciated and welcome

    Jas
    Last edited by jasoomian; 05-26-2020 at 10:39 AM.

  2. #2
    Edo Express Delivery Guy
    ack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Seattle, WA

    Posts
    339
    My guess is its trying to tell you there is an issue with the video ram. Its unclear if its the fast or slow vram.

  3. #3
    Maxima's Barber
    shadowkn55's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    SoCal

    Posts
    2,357
    My guess would be slow vram since the fix map resides there.

  4. #4
    Edo Express Delivery Guy
    ack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Seattle, WA

    Posts
    339
    I was originally thinking that too. However the '8' in the error could mean its complaining about a 8000+ address, which would be fast vram.

  5. #5
    .
    Join Date
    May 2020
    Location
    Owasso, OK

    Posts
    2
    Ok, thanks everyone. Those chips are cheap, looks like fairly easy to source, so, will just order both versions and replace as needed.

    Thanks again

  6. #6
    Maxima's Barber
    shadowkn55's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    SoCal

    Posts
    2,357
    Just keep in mind that fast vram needs to be a certain speed in order to work. Slow vram you have a lot of wiggle room.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •