Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: watchdog

  1. #1
    .
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Location
    ruanda

    Posts
    81

    watchdog

    There is a way to disable mvs watchdog to diagnose problem with neodiag?

  2. #2

    Neo Alec's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    USA

    Posts
    8,558
    Hi. The way to disable watchdog is to fix whatever is causing the system to be stuck in watchdog.

    I would start by checking the connections to the bios chip, but I'm sure the pros on these forums have some other ideas about what to check next.

  3. #3
    JammaNationX
    Xian Xi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Waipahu, Hawaii

    Posts
    27,846
    Google the bios pinout and check connection between CPU>BIOS>WRAM.

  4. #4
    .
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Location
    ruanda

    Posts
    81
    Quote Originally Posted by Xian Xi View Post
    Google the bios pinout and check connection between CPU>BIOS>WRAM.
    Good morning, what if i will remove the bios from socket and put bios masta on the 68000? if i want to do a rapid bios related test? i tested d0-d15 and it worked, i have no connection between 68k pin38 and 74ls259 pin13.
    68k pin 32,33,34 where are they headed?
    Found, they are headed to pin 1,2 and 3 of the 74ls259 chip

    System exited from watchdog, the next error is:
    z80 dead / errored /communication issue
    expected: 03
    actual: 01

    Solved! I have also changed the z80 but the iusse was a broken trace betwen z80 and ym2610.

    No audio, SMI unresponsive
    Last edited by pier; 03-20-2020 at 01:02 PM.

  5. #5
    .
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Location
    ruanda

    Posts
    81
    I have some bad behaviour in my mind but it could be also a stupidity: "is it possible that multigame cartridge has fried this board audio?"

    EDIT:
    The actual error is
    z80 dead / errored /communication issue
    expected: 03
    actual: D3

    it is the audio ram

    Edit: can i use the tms27x0010a or the 27C1000A to flash sm1.rom?
    Edit: system audio yesterday worked for a while with crappy audio on the infamous pop'n bounce bootleg cart i have.
    Last edited by pier; 04-03-2020 at 06:41 AM.

  6. #6
    .
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Location
    ruanda

    Posts
    81
    can anyone have asd ae29f2008-12 pinout? i would like to use it for flash sm1 and swap the toshiba sm1 rom on the fz board but i am not sure if it is pin compatible.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •