Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Wiring in a CMVS MV-1FZ

  1. #1
    .
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Spain

    Posts
    8

    Wiring in a CMVS MV-1FZ

    My idea is to make all the connections (except power supply) from the back of the board (using this thread http://www.neo-geo.com/forums/showth...t=wiring+mv1fz) but haven't found a spot on the board to pass the wires from back to top (through the board). Similar to what was explained here for the MV-1F http://www.jamma-nation-x.com/jammax/cmvs1fs.html "Passing the wires".

    Can you guys help me?

    My idea is to keep the board as it is, I mean, don't add any additional cover that could hide all the wires.

    Thank you

  2. #2
    H = Heinously
    M = Massive
    G = Gonad
    HMG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Canada

    Posts
    4,077
    There doesn't seem to be any empty sections of the PCB with no traces. Your best option is to go with thin cables (like IDE40 hard drive cables) and run the wires in between the white interconnectors, the ones that join the top board to the bottom board.

  3. #3
    .
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Spain

    Posts
    8
    >Yes but still those wires will be exposed on the back.
    Anyway, I agree it may be the best solution if I don't use any additional cover

  4. #4
    NEST Puppet
    DasiyAge's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    United States

    Posts
    174
    Not 100% sure this is what you're looking for but it may be helpful: http://www.neo-geo.com/forums/showth...oard&p=3398903

  5. #5
    H = Heinously
    M = Massive
    G = Gonad
    HMG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Canada

    Posts
    4,077
    Quote Originally Posted by littlecharlie View Post
    >Yes but still those wires will be exposed on the back.
    Anyway, I agree it may be the best solution if I don't use any additional cover
    Only right at the very bottom edge of the black plastic cover. It's not as noticeable as wires going around the sides.

  6. #6
    Hollywood Hulk Gohan GohanX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Hollywood, CA

    Posts
    10,743
    I used to have a CMVS with this board and the builder used a small black project box mounted to the back. The AV/Power jacks were all mounted to the box, and it was so clean I actually didn't know it wasn't a part of the original board until the PCB died and I took the CMVS apart.

  7. #7
    .
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Spain

    Posts
    8
    Quote Originally Posted by GohanX View Post
    I used to have a CMVS with this board and the builder used a small black project box mounted to the back. The AV/Power jacks were all mounted to the box, and it was so clean I actually didn't know it wasn't a part of the original board until the PCB died and I took the CMVS apart.
    i'm guessing you mean something like this
    https://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/07...g?v=1425200267

    But I'll keep searching other solutions

  8. #8
    H = Heinously
    M = Massive
    G = Gonad
    HMG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Canada

    Posts
    4,077
    Honestly, if running wires between the white interconnectors, or removing the center one since it's just for support, or other options aren't going to work, I suggest finding another MVS board to consolize. You'd probably find a MV-1B easier to work with.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •