Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Naomi 2 Wont Display after reboot?

  1. #1
    Mr. Big's Thug
    Capitalistix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Florida

    Posts
    211

    Naomi 2 Wont Display after reboot?

    I finally got my Naomi 2 all up and running in my NNC cab, sort of. Tested Virtua Fighter 4 on cart and that works just fine.

    When I hook up my GD ROM with CvS2, the Naomi starts up, loads the game data, then says its about to reboot, which is evidently normal and should begin the game after a reboot I presume. With mine however, after the reboot, nothing happens, the VGA monitor just displays the "no signal" text, as if the Naomi werent even on. I can hear the Naomi and GD Rom fan noises still working, so its still on, just wont display anything. Has this happened to anyone else? I feel like Im so close to finally enjoying CvS2 lol Any help is greatly appreciated!

  2. #2
    Fighting Artist
    awbacon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    CHicago

    Posts
    2,037
    Sounds like maybe a sync issue. Like your monitor isn’t picking the signal back up. Odd it works until the reset...change the input on the monitor back and forth and see if that helps. Sounds simplistic but it’s a good thing to rule out.

    Weird it works fine on cart and only exhibits the issue on GD

  3. #3
    I survived Secret Santa
    It wasn't Easy.
    JoeAwesome's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Texas

    Posts
    2,195
    What kind of PSU are you using?

  4. #4
    Mr. Big's Thug
    Capitalistix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Florida

    Posts
    211
    here are some pics of my setup and what Im working with. Gameplay footage is of the VF4 Cart. I tried messing around with the monitor chassis control board and for whatever reason none of the buttons do anything at all. I removed the rear cowl of the machine to access the chassis, and plugged and re-plugged the control board in multiple times to no avail. A separate issue, at least I assume. The monitor was a NOS Sanwa PFX installed hastily by the previous owner. Upon taking delivery I finished up the install by hooking up power and VGA to the chassis, as well as the daughter control board.

    As far as the PSU goes, can any of you identify that? I would assume its the one that came with the cab.
















  5. #5
    Fighting Artist
    awbacon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    CHicago

    Posts
    2,037
    Nothing looks “wrong” from the photos. Sorry I thought this was an actual VGA monitor, like a computer lol

    I’d try a second power supply to be safe, and disconnect / reconnect all the harnesses. Work on the easiest stuff first before I got more complex

  6. #6
    I survived Secret Santa
    It wasn't Easy.
    JoeAwesome's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Texas

    Posts
    2,195
    It's a SUN PSU, so I wonder if the voltage is dropping with the GD-ROM drive. Can you hear sound from the speakers when CvS2 is loading up?

  7. #7
    Mr. Big's Thug
    Capitalistix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Florida

    Posts
    211
    I do have sound when the startup plays. Only from one speaker though. Perhaps the other is just blown though? I think I may have a lead. Since getting the Naomi mobo a few months back off of another forum. I barely looked at it, never scrutinzed it. However, in giing the machine a thorough once over yesterday, I decided to take a look at the exposed mobo when a game cart is not inserted. Sure enough, LOTS of the caps are leaking, it seems pretty recent too, as the board itself doesnt seem to be damaged, just yellow goop around a lot of caps. Im no electrical savant, but I do know caps have caused all kinds of issues in other consoles for me before. Could this the issue? Ive also read where naomi games are supposedly very picky about voltages. Is it possible that due to busted caps, the game cart (in this case netdimm) isnt getting enough juice to power the GDROM upon (re)bootup? Perhaps VF4 though does still get enough power for its specific requirements? Just a hypothesis I cooked up over the past day. Let me know if that sounds reasonable and Ill either work on recapping that mobo or getting a new one.

  8. #8
    Fighting Artist
    awbacon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    CHicago

    Posts
    2,037
    Quote Originally Posted by Capitalistix View Post
    I do have sound when the startup plays. Only from one speaker though. Perhaps the other is just blown though? I think I may have a lead. Since getting the Naomi mobo a few months back off of another forum. I barely looked at it, never scrutinzed it. However, in giing the machine a thorough once over yesterday, I decided to take a look at the exposed mobo when a game cart is not inserted. Sure enough, LOTS of the caps are leaking, it seems pretty recent too, as the board itself doesnt seem to be damaged, just yellow goop around a lot of caps. Im no electrical savant, but I do know caps have caused all kinds of issues in other consoles for me before. Could this the issue? Ive also read where naomi games are supposedly very picky about voltages. Is it possible that due to busted caps, the game cart (in this case netdimm) isnt getting enough juice to power the GDROM upon (re)bootup? Perhaps VF4 though does still get enough power for its specific requirements? Just a hypothesis I cooked up over the past day. Let me know if that sounds reasonable and Ill either work on recapping that mobo or getting a new one.
    Definitely. If the caps are leaking I'd do the following. A) take the boards out of the plastic housing b) cut the caps free. May need to desolder, depending on the height, but sometimes you can get some flat snippers under and c) use some 91% of higher IPA to clean the electrolytic fluid (what leaked from the caps) off the board. It's corrosive and the sooner you clean it, the better the odds of it not eating away at the traces

  9. #9
    Dogg-Father
    Neodogg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Cincinnati, OH

    Posts
    3,245
    Some of the “goop” can be glue used at the factories. Are the caps bulging? Pics would help.

  10. #10
    drunk downunder!
    aka. Muff Diver.
    lachlan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    A Hard Earned Thirst

    Posts
    12,127
    Get a multimeter, measure the 5,3.3 and 12 volt output of the PSU while trying to boot VF4, that will rule out the PSU or not.

    The super capacitor near the bios is prone to leakage, you can safely remove it and clean the area without affecting operation.

    When desoldering capacitors, if you are to replace them, it would be easier to leave the cap intact as it will make it easier to remove. Just be careful as too much force can tear up the solder pads, some small lead caps can be a real cunt to remove unless completely desoldered.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •