Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Naomi 2 Wont Display after reboot?

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Mr. Big's Thug
    Capitalistix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Florida

    Posts
    217

    Naomi 2 Wont Display after reboot?

    I finally got my Naomi 2 all up and running in my NNC cab, sort of. Tested Virtua Fighter 4 on cart and that works just fine.

    When I hook up my GD ROM with CvS2, the Naomi starts up, loads the game data, then says its about to reboot, which is evidently normal and should begin the game after a reboot I presume. With mine however, after the reboot, nothing happens, the VGA monitor just displays the "no signal" text, as if the Naomi werent even on. I can hear the Naomi and GD Rom fan noises still working, so its still on, just wont display anything. Has this happened to anyone else? I feel like Im so close to finally enjoying CvS2 lol Any help is greatly appreciated!
    Cool ass/helpful dudes: bartre, BlackaneseNiNjA,

  2. #2
    World Hero
    awbacon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    CHicago

    Posts
    2,310
    Sounds like maybe a sync issue. Like your monitor isn’t picking the signal back up. Odd it works until the reset...change the input on the monitor back and forth and see if that helps. Sounds simplistic but it’s a good thing to rule out.

    Weird it works fine on cart and only exhibits the issue on GD

  3. #3
    I survived Secret Santa
    It wasn't Easy.
    JoeAwesome's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Texas

    Posts
    2,266
    What kind of PSU are you using?
    Quote Originally Posted by Famicommander View Post
    Unify the IWGP Heavyweight, Jr Heavyweight...

  4. #4
    Mr. Big's Thug
    Capitalistix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Florida

    Posts
    217
    here are some pics of my setup and what Im working with. Gameplay footage is of the VF4 Cart. I tried messing around with the monitor chassis control board and for whatever reason none of the buttons do anything at all. I removed the rear cowl of the machine to access the chassis, and plugged and re-plugged the control board in multiple times to no avail. A separate issue, at least I assume. The monitor was a NOS Sanwa PFX installed hastily by the previous owner. Upon taking delivery I finished up the install by hooking up power and VGA to the chassis, as well as the daughter control board.

    As far as the PSU goes, can any of you identify that? I would assume its the one that came with the cab.















    Cool ass/helpful dudes: bartre, BlackaneseNiNjA,

  5. #5
    World Hero
    awbacon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    CHicago

    Posts
    2,310
    Nothing looks “wrong” from the photos. Sorry I thought this was an actual VGA monitor, like a computer lol

    I’d try a second power supply to be safe, and disconnect / reconnect all the harnesses. Work on the easiest stuff first before I got more complex

  6. #6
    I survived Secret Santa
    It wasn't Easy.
    JoeAwesome's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Texas

    Posts
    2,266
    It's a SUN PSU, so I wonder if the voltage is dropping with the GD-ROM drive. Can you hear sound from the speakers when CvS2 is loading up?
    Quote Originally Posted by Famicommander View Post
    Unify the IWGP Heavyweight, Jr Heavyweight...

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •