Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Neo Geo 4 Slot booting to Slot 2

  1. #1
    .
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Location
    San Francisco

    Posts
    8

    Neo Geo 4 Slot booting to Slot 2

    I recently got a 4 slot MVS, and when booting up it starts with the slot 2 cartridge. All slots are working and you can cycle through the games after booting up.

    Can you set the initial boot slot on the official bios, or is this a sign of some other issue?

  2. #2
    Another Striker
    NexusX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Location
    Houston, Tx

    Posts
    326
    Is it really necessary for you to boot into slot 1 off the bat? As long as all 4 are working you should be good to go.
    Last edited by NexusX; 12-10-2019 at 09:46 PM.

  3. #3
    Kyo's Flame
    DanAdamKOF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Sunnyvale, CA http://www.twitch.tv/danadamkof

    Posts
    8,232
    Does the issue persist after clearing Backup RAM?

  4. #4
    .
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Location
    San Francisco

    Posts
    8
    Quote Originally Posted by DanAdamKOF View Post
    Does the issue persist after clearing Backup RAM?
    No change after clearing backup RAM; tried both A+B+C and Dip Switch methods too.

  5. #5
    .
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Location
    San Francisco

    Posts
    8
    Quote Originally Posted by NexusX View Post
    Is it really necessary for you to boot into slot 1 off the bat? As long as all 4 are working you should be good to go.
    Nah it doesn't matter really, just more curious why this would happen, and want to make sure it isn't a sign of other issues.

  6. #6
    Over Top Auto Mechanic
    egg_sanwich's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Vancouver, Canada

    Posts
    1,012
    Both 4 slot mobos Iíve owned have done this. I donít think itís a sign of any other issues.

  7. #7
    .
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Location
    San Francisco

    Posts
    8
    Cool, thanks for the info.

  8. #8
    Divine Hand of the UniBIOS
    Razoola's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Finland, Earth

    Posts
    4,621
    It all depends on the game in slot 1. Games with the older jingle will always take priority over games with the newer progear spec jingle.
    THE UNIVERSE BIOS ( MVS / AES, and now also for CD )
    www.universebios.com. Also on facebook, please like http://www.facebook.com/UniverseBios.

  9. #9
    .
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Location
    San Francisco

    Posts
    8
    Quote Originally Posted by Razoola View Post
    It all depends on the game in slot 1. Games with the older jingle will always take priority over games with the newer progear spec jingle.
    Thanks for the additional detail Raz!

  10. #10
    Choi's Barber
    shadowkn55's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    SoCal

    Posts
    2,218
    I feel like the boot order has always been 2-3-4-1.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •