Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 26

Thread: RGB/component issues with AES systems

  1. #1
    .
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    NJ

    Posts
    37

    RGB/component issues with AES systems

    Having this issue with two systems. Color is mostly just green with some blue And some red but mostly green. Both systems are in the 100k range. Only happens when hooked up to RGB SCART via converter to component. Otherwise composite is fine.
    Last edited by The_jake; 11-23-2019 at 08:39 AM.

  2. #2
    .
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    NJ

    Posts
    37
    Pic
    Attached Images Attached Images

  3. #3
    Hollywood Hulk Gohan GohanX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Hollywood, CA

    Posts
    10,800
    Check your component cables, it looks like one isn't plugged in, or the red and blue are reversed.

  4. #4
    .
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    NJ

    Posts
    37
    Ok so I checked the cables seem fine. Even took out the pc engine that I have that has the RGB mod using the same cable and it comes through fine. I can see maybe one system having a cap blown or something but both? Maybe it’s common idk. I guess I can crack the systems open
    Last edited by The_jake; 11-23-2019 at 01:58 PM.

  5. #5
    We have purposely
    trained him wrong
    ...as a joke.
    ChuChu Flamingo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    US

    Posts
    2,187
    Are you using Csync?

    If that is a Sony some don't like CSYNC and give weird colors like that.

    https://shmups.system11.org/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=59668
    "All creature will die and all the things will be broken. That's the law of samurai."

  6. #6
    . avramce's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Location
    Seattle, WA

    Posts
    67
    Just confirming, is the cable you are using designed for AES? My understanding is that the AES does all the signal processing for the RGB out on the board so the SCART connector should have no caps or resistors inline with the output. I tried to use my Genesis 1 SCART cable with the AES, and had trouble getting any signal from it, I wonder if it is something similar here.

  7. #7
    . avramce's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Location
    Seattle, WA

    Posts
    67
    For clarity, you can see the differences in my cables in these wiring diagrams:

    thTGXVRM65.jpg
    neogeo.png

  8. #8

    Neo Alec's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    USA

    Posts
    8,550
    Check the pots on the component converter.

  9. #9
    .
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    NJ

    Posts
    37
    Its definately the compatability with the tv. I have a similiar model sony to the one in that thread. Apparently, there's no luma sync cable for the neo just C-sync, so I would need to look into other options.
    Last edited by The_jake; 11-24-2019 at 08:58 AM.

  10. #10
    .
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    NJ

    Posts
    37
    Just confirming, is the cable you are using designed for AES? My understanding is that the AES does all the signal processing for the RGB out on the board so the SCART connector should have no caps or resistors inline with the output. I tried to use my Genesis 1 SCART cable with the AES, and had trouble getting any signal from it, I wonder if it is something similar here.
    Not sure, it came with the pc engine. Which cable are you using?
    Last edited by The_jake; 11-24-2019 at 08:57 AM.

  11. #11
    . avramce's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Location
    Seattle, WA

    Posts
    67
    I bought a Retro-Access AES cable so I can pull the audio from the headphone jack for Stereo:

    https://retro-access.com/products/us...243967b1&_ss=r

  12. #12
    . avramce's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Location
    Seattle, WA

    Posts
    67
    Lol, I figured it out:

    th.jpg

    RGB are all on the wrong pins, I have the AES pinout in my previous post. Thank goodness Sync, GND and 5V share the same layout, that could have been bad.

  13. #13
    . avramce's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Location
    Seattle, WA

    Posts
    67
    With that, you are feeding:
    AES Blue to SCART Green
    AES Green to SCART AudioR
    AES Red to SCART Red

    More than likely you are getting messed up audio as well?

  14. #14
    .
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    NJ

    Posts
    37
    Yup the audio is messed up too. Somewhat garbled with a buzz

  15. #15

    Neo Alec's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    USA

    Posts
    8,550
    Quote Originally Posted by The_jake View Post
    Its definately the compatability with the tv. I have a similiar model sony to the one in that thread. Apparently, there's no luma sync cable for the neo just C-sync, so I would need to look into other options.
    How would the cable pull luma from the Neo? It has no s-video output from the factory.

    Probably make sure your cable is wired for csync too, and not just sync on composite. I had to move the wire on my very old retrogamingcables one.

  16. #16
    .
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    NJ

    Posts
    37
    That’s right. Not sure where I got that from. I believe retrogamingcables currently has aN RGB cable with csync.

    Quote Originally Posted by Neo Alec View Post
    How would the cable pull luma from the Neo? It has no s-video output from the factory.

    Probably make sure your cable is wired for csync too, and not just sync on composite. I had to move the wire on my very old retrogamingcables one.
    Last edited by The_jake; 11-25-2019 at 03:48 PM.

  17. #17
    .
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    NJ

    Posts
    37
    Quote Originally Posted by avramce View Post
    I bought a Retro-Access AES cable so I can pull the audio from the headphone jack for Stereo:

    https://retro-access.com/products/us...243967b1&_ss=r
    Damn it’s out of stock. It would be worth trying. I’m still not sure if the cable I have is c sync or not and if that’s the problem or the tv

  18. #18
    . avramce's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Location
    Seattle, WA

    Posts
    67
    Quote Originally Posted by The_jake View Post
    Damn it’s out of stock. It would be worth trying. I’m still not sure if the cable I have is c sync or not and if that’s the problem or the tv
    Your TV support c-sync fine, otherwise the PCEngine wouldn't display, nor would the AES work over the composite cable. As mentioned in my other post, the PC Engine cable has a different pinout than AES, so you aren't hooking up the RGB correctly. From Retro-Access, you can always order custom cables for more expedited shipping (https://retro-access.com/collections/custom-cables). If you are handy with a soldering iron, you can open up the SCART end of the PC Engine cable and re-wire it for AES temporarily before spending money.

    Given this:
    scart-to-jp21-key.jpg

    You'd want to:
    Desolder pin 7 (blue)
    Desolder pin 11 (green) -> resolder to pin 7 (blue)
    Desolder pin 1 (audio right) -> resolder to pin 11 (green)
    Tie pin 1 to pin 3 (send mono to both channels)

    AES Blue to SCART Green
    AES Green to SCART AudioR
    AES Red to SCART Red
    Last edited by avramce; 11-26-2019 at 01:28 PM.

  19. #19
    .
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    NJ

    Posts
    37
    Awesome thanks that cleared it up. I’m gonna just order the cable since I still use the pc engine regularly.

  20. #20
    . avramce's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Location
    Seattle, WA

    Posts
    67
    You wanna buy my SCART cable? I just got my HD retrovision AES cable and I think it works better for my setup rather than SCART. I can ship it out tomorrow if you'd like it

  21. #21
    .
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    NJ

    Posts
    37
    Sure. Is that hd retro vision cable wires differently for the Neo than the standard one they have for the gen 2? Just out of curiosit would you run into the same problem as using a gen scart cable? . I had their cable but sold it bc I already had scart for most of the systems I have.

  22. #22
    . avramce's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Location
    Seattle, WA

    Posts
    67
    They actually have a Gen2 to Neo Geo adapter that was just released a week ago (https://castlemaniagames.com/collect...v-port-adapter). PM incoming if you are interested in the Retro-Access SCART cable.
    Last edited by avramce; 11-27-2019 at 08:10 AM.

  23. #23
    .
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    NJ

    Posts
    37
    Quote Originally Posted by avramce View Post
    They actually have a Gen2 to Neo Geo adapter that was just released a week ago (https://castlemaniagames.com/collect...v-port-adapter). PM incoming if you are interested in the Retro-Access SCART cable.
    Oddly enough I had the hd retro with the Neo adapter and had the same problem. That’s why I was thinking the tv was the issue. I’m open to trying the scart but am thinking ultimately I’m going to end up getting a pvm for my setup.

  24. #24
    .
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    NJ

    Posts
    37
    Just to follow up, I have since purchased an official SNK RGB cable. Now I'm just getting a red, rolling picture on the sony as opposed to the yellowed tinged, but fully visible issue with the others. Same on a samsung. Tested with two different AES systems and same result. Higher number serial systems, not that it should matter, but I would assume there would be less chance of a cap leaking causing this issue, especially on two different systems with the same exact color issues.

    So, I have tried:
    Official SNK cables
    PC engine RGB
    HD retrovision cable with neo geo adapter

    Have had some kind of issue with all. The system works fine with composite cables. Frustrating, because I am now using RGB where possible on the systems that I have, and this is the only one that is giving me a hard time.

  25. #25
    World Hero
    shadowkn55's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    SoCal

    Posts
    2,317
    Post a pic of your neo geo motherboard. The early boards need to have the caps on the rgb lines replaced.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •