Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Top of video display curling

  1. #1
    . avramce's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Location
    Seattle, WA

    Posts
    45

    Top of video display curling

    Hi all, I have a MV-1 board that has an issue where the top of the display curls to the right. At first I thought my monitor was flaking out, but confirmed that my other boards do not do this on the monitor.

    Is this something a recap would fix? I tend to hear recapping for audio problems, but does recaps help visual, or is that IC issues?

    Last edited by avramce; 11-02-2019 at 05:06 PM.

  2. #2
    Geese's Thug
    ack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Seattle, WA

    Posts
    274
    I recently came across this too. I got a 4 slot cabinet with a MV4FS and MS8-26SG monitor that and a curve at the top. No amount of tweaking the pots would help. Pulled the monitor and was doing testing with an MV2F, which also had the curve. Figured it was the monitor chassis, recapped it, no change. Spent a bunch of time testing/verifying components on the chassis, didn't find anything bad. Swapped to using a random jamma board, curve was gone. Further testing with other neo geo boards showed a correlation between boards that use the NEO-I0 chip to generate the sync signal and there being a curve. Perhaps its outputting a slightly malformed signal that causes problems for some monitors.

  3. #3
    Armored Scrum Object

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Levittown, PA

    Posts
    259
    Don't know if this will help, but when this happens on professional CRT's (usually higher-end ones like BVM's) we commonly use an Extron RGB interface with the SERR dipswitch turned on. It'll help with the sync and get rid of the skew (also known as flagging) on the top of the screen.

  4. #4
    Geese's Thug
    ack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Seattle, WA

    Posts
    274
    Yeah, that devices does what I was thinking about too. I'm looking at getting a jrok sync cleaner and see if that fixes it.

  5. #5
    Avid Neo-Expert
    awbacon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    CHicago

    Posts
    1,997
    Quote Originally Posted by ack View Post
    Yeah, that devices does what I was thinking about too. I'm looking at getting a jrok sync cleaner and see if that fixes it.
    I'd def try messing with the sync levels. MVS sync is not "standard", so your monitor just might not be cool with it

  6. #6
    Master Brewer, Genzai Sake Co.
    wyo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Tampa, FL

    Posts
    5,551
    This issue is also present when using an AES with certain monitors such as the PVM-20L5.
    Neo Geo AES #011035 #036442 | Neo Geo CD #0002814 #0015959 | MVS Executive | Razion 1cc Club President | NG.com Top Trader
    ATTN NOOBS: Jamma Nation X makes the best CMVS & Superguns, PERIOD! | Unofficial MVS and AES Price Guide
    Quote Originally Posted by SNKSOUL View Post
    I ask a complete account removal extraction

    I ask the deletion authorized by Neo Geo Admin Judge Dredd.

    Thanks a lot.

  7. #7
    Neo Bubble Buster
    Max_Headroom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    USA

    Posts
    41
    Interesting. I had to adjust that same “curl” out of mine by messing with horiz and vert sync despite the monitor not having the same issue with test PCBs.. now I’m wondering if it’s my MVS-2 board that could be causing the issue.

    Been meaning to do it anyway.. just ordered a cap kit for the board.
    Last edited by Max_Headroom; 11-06-2019 at 12:59 AM.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •