Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: AES 3-6 strange issues

  1. #1
    Kula's Candy
    Evan's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Your trash can

    Posts
    293

    AES 3-6 strange issues

    Recently my old power adapter on my Neo Geo broke while I was using it. I got a new one, but there were many issues. Some games, like kof '96 just wouldn't work, while others like 2001 did. I got another power adapter and most games work now, but sometimes they don't and bring up an garbled mess with a watchdog error. The, if I put games in that work, it doesn't work anymore, even without a cart it glitches out. But, after a while some carts work again. I have no clue how that power adapter breaking while it was in my Neo affected it. But, I have replacement parts, and have recapped the board. Is there any idea what is wrong with this?
    Alright, back again with THE IMMORTAL JOHN HANCOCK

  2. #2
    JammaNationX
    Xian Xi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Waipahu, Hawaii

    Posts
    27,809
    measure the voltage at the controller port with the game plugged in. Anything lower than 4.75v will cause issues, of course 5.00-5.10v is preferred.

  3. #3
    Shigen's Fitness Trainer
    Niko's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Kentucky

    Posts
    1,625
    Which replacement PSU did you go with?

  4. #4
    Kula's Candy
    Evan's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Your trash can

    Posts
    293
    Ok I measured it, it's about 4.8 volts.
    Alright, back again with THE IMMORTAL JOHN HANCOCK

  5. #5
    Kula's Candy
    Evan's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Your trash can

    Posts
    293
    Quote Originally Posted by Niko View Post
    Which replacement PSU did you go with?
    I have the top gear one which I used in the past and it worked fine until one of the plugs broke off, then the other one is some other ac adapter that says it's for retro game consoles, but is huge and measures at outputting 10V which is a lie, as I mesured it outputting 16V, so I got my money back for it.
    Alright, back again with THE IMMORTAL JOHN HANCOCK

  6. #6

  7. #7
    Kula's Candy
    Evan's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Your trash can

    Posts
    293
    Quote Originally Posted by Xian Xi View Post
    How many amps is the current PSU rated at?
    One amp
    Alright, back again with THE IMMORTAL JOHN HANCOCK

  8. #8
    Shigen's Fitness Trainer
    Niko's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Kentucky

    Posts
    1,625

  9. #9
    Kula's Candy
    Evan's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Your trash can

    Posts
    293
    Quote Originally Posted by Niko View Post
    So the issue is I don't have enough current? I'll get the new power supply, but I still wonder how a 1 amp power adapter worked for me for 2 years. Is this just rate, or did I damage something internally?
    Alright, back again with THE IMMORTAL JOHN HANCOCK

  10. #10

    Neo Alec's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    USA

    Posts
    8,328
    I assume this is an AES that says it needs the NEO-POW3 on the bottom?

    Quote Originally Posted by Evan View Post
    So the issue is I don't have enough current? I'll get the new power supply, but I still wonder how a 1 amp power adapter worked for me for 2 years. Is this just rate, or did I damage something internally?
    That isn't enough current. It may have been supplying a little more than marked.
    Last edited by Neo Alec; 10-03-2019 at 09:56 AM.

  11. #11
    Kula's Candy
    Evan's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Your trash can

    Posts
    293
    Quote Originally Posted by Neo Alec View Post
    I assume this is an AES that says it needs the NEO-POW3 on the bottom?


    That isn't enough current. It may have been supplying a little more than marked.
    Ah okay, well I ordered the American 9V adapter.
    Alright, back again with THE IMMORTAL JOHN HANCOCK

  12. #12
    Kula's Candy
    Evan's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Your trash can

    Posts
    293
    Ok, now I got the correct power adapter, but it still has issues. When I don’t put a cart in and turn it on, I get a white screen, which shows all tests passed. But if I put in a cart, then I get a watchdog error. Does anyone know what’s wrong?

  13. #13
    Kula's Candy
    Evan's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Your trash can

    Posts
    293
    Ok, now it mostly works, every once and a while it will watchdog but most of the time it's fine, but now a new issue arose. Now, my sideo mod produces tons of checkerboarding. Is there a way I can go fix this?
    Alright, back again with THE IMMORTAL JOHN HANCOCK

  14. #14

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •