Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: AES Pal to NTSC conversion questions

  1. #1
    Mr. Big's Thug
    Capitalistix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Florida

    Posts
    211

    AES Pal to NTSC conversion questions

    Alright after searching the forums and finding a few threads on this, and reading them, Im still incredibly confused. Everybody seemed to have tons of different answers instead of a straightforward; A, B, and C must be done and youre good.

    What EXACTLY does it take to convert a PAL AES to play NTSC, like an OG American system would have. 60hz, NTSC etc. I do plan on using RGB scart cables the majority of the time, if that makes any difference.

    Some peeps were talking about adding a different crystal to get a different Hz rate, and yet others were straightup "I cut a jumper and I'm gucci"

    So what gives?

  2. #2
    Host for Orochi
    suicidekiller's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Germany

    Posts
    1,570
    Quote Originally Posted by Capitalistix View Post
    "I cut a jumper and I'm gucci"
    Pretty much this. This one to be exact:

    index.jpg

    Since you will be using RGB: There's also an RGB fix which you could check out because later board revisions tend to have vertical lines in the picture. But 50/60Hz is just determined by this jumper.

  3. #3
    Mr. Big's Thug
    Capitalistix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Florida

    Posts
    211
    Thats wild, so that will cause the console to display at 60hz? No other mods would be needed to play as any other NTSC console would? And this applies to all mobo revisions? I keep seeing stuff about one of the CPUs legs attached to a solder pad or not attached etc. But this is just a matter of cutting a trace?

  4. #4
    Host for Orochi
    suicidekiller's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Germany

    Posts
    1,570
    Yep. I know it's stupid, but that's how they did it.

  5. #5
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Location
    USA

    Posts
    93
    Quote Originally Posted by suicidekiller View Post
    Yep. I know it's stupid, but that's how they did it.
    That is crazy simple, and good to know just in case. I am always amazed at the ways that hardware makes the 50/60hz change. Is this method just simply changing the display frequency, while still internally working at the same "native" speed? I know that PAL users of the Sega Genesis catch some flak because everything including the music is slowed down.
    desiretoknowmoreintensifies.jpg

  6. #6
    The Chinese Kid Kid Panda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Panda Islandô

    Posts
    12,726
    I would buy a JP unit, then get a multibios. It's just cheaper.

  7. #7
    Master Brewer, Genzai Sake Co.
    wyo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Tampa, FL

    Posts
    5,592
    Cut trace/jumper will result in PAL60 output. Not a problem if you're using a PVM. However, if you're using composite on a consumer NTSC TV, the picture may display in black and white.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •