Thread: Naomi 2 Questions

Naomi 2 Questions

So way back I had a Naomi in a quest to play some CVS2 in my cab, but I had many problems with a GD Rom at the time, ended up selling everything sans the actual game.

Flash forward to now and Im ready to start my Naomi journey anew. Im waiting on a recapped Naomi 2, a DIMM board, SCSI cable and a GD-Rom thats been refurbished with a new laser and gone through. This will be going into a dedicated JVS cabinet.

My questions are fairly simple, what extra wires and power supply(ies) will I need to get this monstrosity up and running?

I read somewhere that the Naomi 2 has different power requirements than the Naomi 1? Or that it can supply power to the GD-Rom itself or something? Im a complete Naomi 2 noob, and its been forever since I messed with a Naomi 1.

Any help or advice is appreciated!

Thanks =]
    Cool ass/helpful dudes: bartre, BlackaneseNiNjA,

Dogg-Father

probably need a Capcom I/O board too

SUN psu...

I had a GD-Rom unit years ago but I think the PSU powers both the mobo and GD on separate dongles...I netboot now...
    _ _ ___________________________ _ _
    People I've delt with:
    |Steve Rhine|Vinh|Jeff Kurtz|Kenny Boy|Big Bear|Fox1|Bones|Kid Aphex|Bluevoodu|Kubikiri Basara|Shawn|Michael Yagami|

Quote Originally Posted by Neodogg View Post
    probably need a Capcom I/O board too

SUN psu...

I had a GD-Rom unit years ago but I think the PSU powers both the mobo and GD on separate dongles...I netboot now...
    This is a fully JVS equipped cab, would I still need the I/O? I thought that was used to convert a Naomi for a Jamma cab? So the Cab itself doesnt provide power to the Naomi through a connection to the JVS harness?

Dogg-Father

don't you still need to plug your harness into something for the controls? I assume that is the function of the I/O board...
    _ _ ___________________________ _ _
    People I've delt with: