Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: RetroTink 2X Component Video Colors Too Bright/Blown Out

  1. #1

    yagamikun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Cincinnati, Oh

    Posts
    1,275

    RetroTink 2X Component Video Colors Too Bright/Blown Out

    Does anyone on here have experience using component video via the RetroTink 2x?

    Story:
    Purchased the RT to see if it would fix the timing issue using component video via my AES and my HD sets - as is the case with using the AES on more modern display types. Happily, it fixed the timing issue and I incur no more flicker! (REI modded AES from KJP)

    Sadly, it completely blows out the colors - especially the blue.

    Here's what I've done to trouble shoot:

    -I've cycled through all modes on the RT

    -I've tried 2 TVs - 14 year old Sony Wega and a modern Samsung 4K

    -I've tried 2 sets of Component cables - HD Retrovision and Media Bridge

    -Component straight to the TV looks incredible, colors are perfect and image is sharp - just looses sync every so often (as is the way with many HD sets and the Neo).

    -Tried s-video through the RT and the image and colors are fine.

    -I don't think it is the mini-HDMI that came with it (ordered direct from developer) as the s-video image quality is fine.

    Images with descriptions - these are off screen, but you can clearly see the difference in image quality and colors. NO settings were changed between shots - only output types.

    RetroTink Component:
    https://imgur.com/50eqXtu

    Direct to TV Component:
    https://imgur.com/a6ZvihW

    RetroTink S-Video:
    https://imgur.com/OXv6O4k

    Any thoughts?
    Last edited by yagamikun; 08-24-2019 at 12:48 PM.

  2. #2
    Why So Many X's?
    XxHennersXx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Tacoma, WA

    Posts
    512
    Yeah this happened with the Omega CMVS and the retrotink. Spoke to the creator of the RT2X over twitter, itís something with the encoder used in the console itself.

    Someone I know with the Omega just uses S-video on the RT2X and theyíre happy with it. I ended up using the component in on my Home Theater receiver and it fortunately sees 240P as 480P and looks great.

    Itís been reported that JNX CMVS work well with it.

    So itís all in the way your AES was modded for component out.

  3. #3

    yagamikun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Cincinnati, Oh

    Posts
    1,275
    Thanks! I thought it could be that... But I failed to mention in my original post that I also tried my Saturn via the HD Retrovision Component cables (Genesis 2 cable with the Saturn link) and got the same blown out color result. I have a few mods in there, but no AV mods.

  4. #4
    Cham Cham's Banana
    DasiyAge's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    United States

    Posts
    165
    Have you tried adjusting your TV settings?

  5. #5
    Why So Many X's?
    XxHennersXx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Tacoma, WA

    Posts
    512
    Quote Originally Posted by yagamikun View Post
    Thanks! I thought it could be that... But I failed to mention in my original post that I also tried my Saturn via the HD Retrovision Component cables (Genesis 2 cable with the Saturn link) and got the same blown out color result. I have a few mods in there, but no AV mods.
    Has anything with component worked on your RT2X?

    Find something that can output it natively like a PS2. Remember it canít do 480P passthru

  6. #6

    yagamikun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Cincinnati, Oh

    Posts
    1,275
    Quote Originally Posted by XxHennersXx View Post
    Has anything with component worked on your RT2X?

    Find something that can output it natively like a PS2. Remember it can’t do 480P passthru
    Good call. I had planned on getting a Sony component cable soon anyway, so I'll grab one of those and test it out the with the RT2X. Thanks!

  7. #7

    yagamikun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Cincinnati, Oh

    Posts
    1,275
    Quote Originally Posted by DasiyAge View Post
    Have you tried adjusting your TV settings?
    Of course

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •