Memory card causing MVS to short out?

DuffCon

Kuroko's Training Dummy
I just bought this memory card:

https://www.ebay.com/itm/Neo-Geo-M...rksid=p2349624.m43663.l10137&nordt=true&rt=nc

When I insert it into my MV-IC it the MVS makes a ticking sound and the led on the card flashes in sync with the credit LEDs and sound.

I’m not sure what’s that problem as I’ve never used the MV-IC or the card before. I don’t really have any local machines to test the card in. Any ideas what it could be? I tried reversing the ribbon cable on the PCB and it the card lights up solid but isn’t recognized

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Gamemaster

20 Year Member
Hi the design of the cards come from here: https://github.com/neogeodev/NeoMemCard2
So basicly you can build your own if you can solder.

I made a few myself a while ago, normally the LED is always on when connected to a AES or MVS. It only flasches when you write to it.
Booth AES and MVS behave normal with card inserted.
You have to insert the card, that the LED, Neo-Geo Logo and the switch is on top.

I dont think you can damage Hardware if you insert this memory card the wrong way but dont blame me if it does.

Note you have to format the memory card before you use it, press A B C D on Controller 1 to enter memory card menu after reset or turn on.

DuffCon

Kuroko's Training Dummy
It’s weird, I can’t even get to the memory manager as the system glitches over and over. If I reverse the ribbon cable the card stays lit and the system boots, but the memory manager doesn’t recognize it. Would be a lot easier if I can find another machine to test on.

DuffCon

Kuroko's Training Dummy
So after fiddling with all the connections I can get it to come up with the card inserted. It gives a hardware failure error and if I go into the memory card manager it will see the card inserted but when I try to format it says “memory card write protected”

8d9a649337707e540bc5b5e004e5af69.jpg

Gamemaster

20 Year Member