Results 1 to 20 of 20

Thread: Memory card causing MVS to short out?

  1. #1
    Lazy SNK Employee
    DuffCon's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Bay Area, CA

    Posts
    56

    Memory card causing MVS to short out?

    I just bought this memory card:

    https://www.ebay.com/itm/Neo-Geo-Mem...rdt=true&rt=nc

    When I insert it into my MV-IC it the MVS makes a ticking sound and the led on the card flashes in sync with the credit LEDs and sound.

    Iím not sure whatís that problem as Iíve never used the MV-IC or the card before. I donít really have any local machines to test the card in. Any ideas what it could be? I tried reversing the ribbon cable on the PCB and it the card lights up solid but isnít recognized


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Current Arcade: Capcom Big Blue - 2nd Gen NQS | Atari Family MVS conversion

  2. #2


    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Germany

    Posts
    382
    Hi the design of the cards come from here: https://github.com/neogeodev/NeoMemCard2
    So basicly you can build your own if you can solder.

    I made a few myself a while ago, normally the LED is always on when connected to a AES or MVS. It only flasches when you write to it.
    Booth AES and MVS behave normal with card inserted.
    You have to insert the card, that the LED, Neo-Geo Logo and the switch is on top.

    I dont think you can damage Hardware if you insert this memory card the wrong way but dont blame me if it does.

    Note you have to format the memory card before you use it, press A B C D on Controller 1 to enter memory card menu after reset or turn on.
    SNK the future is now

  3. #3
    Lazy SNK Employee
    DuffCon's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Bay Area, CA

    Posts
    56
    Itís weird, I canít even get to the memory manager as the system glitches over and over. If I reverse the ribbon cable the card stays lit and the system boots, but the memory manager doesnít recognize it. Would be a lot easier if I can find another machine to test on.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Current Arcade: Capcom Big Blue - 2nd Gen NQS | Atari Family MVS conversion

  4. #4
    Lazy SNK Employee
    DuffCon's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Bay Area, CA

    Posts
    56
    So after fiddling with all the connections I can get it to come up with the card inserted. It gives a hardware failure error and if I go into the memory card manager it will see the card inserted but when I try to format it says ďmemory card write protectedĒ




    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Current Arcade: Capcom Big Blue - 2nd Gen NQS | Atari Family MVS conversion

  5. #5


    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Germany

    Posts
    382
    When the manager says its write protected, i would say the flash chip is dead then.
    You might want to check they type of the chip, because the github instructions stated a wrong one ( FM28V020-SG ) with only 3,6V max and the Neo gives out 5V.
    Must be a 877-FM18W08-SG.
    You can get thouse cheap off aliexpress 3$ 2 pieces.

    You can try use the switch when the card is powered off to check if the 2nd bank works but as i said i guess the flashram chip is dead.
    Last edited by Gamemaster; 07-28-2019 at 12:42 PM.
    SNK the future is now

  6. #6
    Lazy SNK Employee
    DuffCon's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Bay Area, CA

    Posts
    56
    I believe the chip is the correct model



    B bank gives same error


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Current Arcade: Capcom Big Blue - 2nd Gen NQS | Atari Family MVS conversion

  7. #7


    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Germany

    Posts
    382
    Yes its the right one.
    I can say when the chip is dead, the manager tells you its write protected, because i had the same with dead chips.
    However i dont know how to test thease chips if they are ok.
    Dont know about your setup, if the light stays on and systems boots up i would say thats correct then and the chip is dead.
    I only have AES but other ppl, that got a card from me, use em without problems on MVS.

    Contact the seller tell him the chip is faulty, from what i can tell you cant kill the chip if the card is inserted the wrong way:

    https://wiki.neogeodev.org/index.php...ry_card_pinout
    SNK the future is now

  8. #8
    Lazy SNK Employee
    DuffCon's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Bay Area, CA

    Posts
    56
    At this point Iím not 100% on my MV-IC board so I guess Iím going to have to try a new card or board.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Current Arcade: Capcom Big Blue - 2nd Gen NQS | Atari Family MVS conversion

  9. #9


    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Germany

    Posts
    382
    I would just desolder the chip and solder a new one in, its very easy to do if you have a heat gun and soldering iron.
    2 pieces for 3$ shipped.
    SNK the future is now

  10. #10
    Lazy SNK Employee
    DuffCon's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Bay Area, CA

    Posts
    56
    Quote Originally Posted by Gamemaster View Post
    I would just desolder the chip and solder a new one in, its very easy to do if you have a heat gun and soldering iron.
    2 pieces for 3$ shipped.
    I can solder a little but that is a bit beyond me.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Current Arcade: Capcom Big Blue - 2nd Gen NQS | Atari Family MVS conversion

  11. #11
    Lazy SNK Employee
    DuffCon's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Bay Area, CA

    Posts
    56
    Some additional background. I have two MV-IC boards, the first had all itís pins bent so I sourced another that was dirty but intact. The first postings were for that one.

    So after I got frustrated and straightened the pins on my old board and gave that a try. I got a similar result.

    So both boards behave the same. I messaged the seller who states that the cards are tested before shipping. If thatís the case, is it possible to test it without formatting?

    I guess my next best step would be to try another card?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Current Arcade: Capcom Big Blue - 2nd Gen NQS | Atari Family MVS conversion

  12. #12
    Ninja Combat Warrior
    eclypse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    GO TIGERS!!! Macomb MI

    Posts
    693
    Ya need to sell me one of those MV-IC boards! Hehe


    I had one many years ago.. it was nasty and also had bent pins. Cleaned it up and fixed the pins and even made my own cable set out of 4 old IDE cables and she worked.

    Now I got a consolized 6 slot that needs one.

  13. #13
    Lazy SNK Employee
    DuffCon's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Bay Area, CA

    Posts
    56
    Quote Originally Posted by eclypse View Post
    Ya need to sell me one of those MV-IC boards! Hehe


    I had one many years ago.. it was nasty and also had bent pins. Cleaned it up and fixed the pins and even made my own cable set out of 4 old IDE cables and she worked.

    Now I got a consolized 6 slot that needs one.
    Thereís a member on these forums thatís producing a reproduction, I may have to get one if it turns out mine are bad.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Current Arcade: Capcom Big Blue - 2nd Gen NQS | Atari Family MVS conversion

  14. #14

    Neo Alec's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    USA

    Posts
    8,230
    I'd definitely try another card, because I'd bet the MV-IC is the problem based on my experience with that error. You may need to give the wiring and boards a closer inspection

  15. #15
    Lazy SNK Employee
    DuffCon's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Bay Area, CA

    Posts
    56
    I got a original card today and it works perfectly. Looks like the aftermarket card is bad. The seller has already said he would repair/replace it. I tested it with both my MV-IC boards and the board with the bent pins does not work, but the undamaged on works fine. Maybe someone on here with better skills can repair it, but itís beyond my abilities.

    Thanks for the help guys!


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Current Arcade: Capcom Big Blue - 2nd Gen NQS | Atari Family MVS conversion

  16. #16
    Ninja Combat Warrior
    eclypse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    GO TIGERS!!! Macomb MI

    Posts
    693
    Quote Originally Posted by DuffCon View Post
    I got a original card today and it works perfectly. Looks like the aftermarket card is bad. The seller has already said he would repair/replace it. I tested it with both my MV-IC boards and the board with the bent pins does not work, but the undamaged on works fine. Maybe someone on here with better skills can repair it, but it’s beyond my abilities.

    Thanks for the help guys!


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    I recently bought one of those repo's.. hopefully on it's way soon.

    Be a fun project to take a look at but I dont have a memory card yet.

    Should sell it for parts maybe?

    Years ago when I had a consolized 4 slot i bought a mv-1c board and it was filthy and had bent pins and was able to fix it. I think I even made my own cables for it our of combining 4 ide cables.

  17. #17
    Lazy SNK Employee
    DuffCon's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Bay Area, CA

    Posts
    56
    Quote Originally Posted by eclypse View Post
    I recently bought one of those repo's.. hopefully on it's way soon.

    Be a fun project to take a look at but I dont have a memory card yet.

    Should sell it for parts maybe?

    Years ago when I had a consolized 4 slot i bought a mv-1c board and it was filthy and had bent pins and was able to fix it. I think I even made my own cables for it our of combining 4 ide cables.
    Unfortunately the MVS PCMCIA socket is unobtonium as far as I know. I managed to straighten the pins pretty well but some broke and they appear to be important.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Current Arcade: Capcom Big Blue - 2nd Gen NQS | Atari Family MVS conversion

  18. #18
    Ninja Combat Warrior
    eclypse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    GO TIGERS!!! Macomb MI

    Posts
    693
    Quote Originally Posted by DuffCon View Post
    Unfortunately the MVS PCMCIA socket is unobtonium as far as I know. I managed to straighten the pins pretty well but some broke and they appear to be important.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Yeah that would be a big fix sourcing some replacement pins.

  19. #19
    Ninja Combat Warrior
    eclypse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    GO TIGERS!!! Macomb MI

    Posts
    693
    Quote Originally Posted by DuffCon View Post
    Unfortunately the MVS PCMCIA socket is unobtonium as far as I know. I managed to straighten the pins pretty well but some broke and they appear to be important.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    That guy that's making the repo boards obviously is getting the socket made.. maybe he can sell you a socket.

  20. #20
    Lazy SNK Employee
    DuffCon's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Bay Area, CA

    Posts
    56
    Quote Originally Posted by eclypse View Post
    That guy that's making the repo boards obviously is getting the socket made.. maybe he can sell you a socket.
    Heís using a standard pcmcia and arranging the pin outs via the PCB. Technically the socket is the same except under mount vs over. It changes the orientation of the pins.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Current Arcade: Capcom Big Blue - 2nd Gen NQS | Atari Family MVS conversion

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •