Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Metal Slug 3 Resets

  1. #1
    Paris-Dakar Rally Driver
    Dakar 2003
    Dilandau's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Southern California

    Posts
    67

    Metal Slug 3 Resets

    My copy of Metal Slug 3 will start and run in attract mode fine but when you go to play as soon as it finishes the character select screen animation and goes to player control the 'please wait' text garbles and the game resets. The reset always occurs at exactly the same spot. I don't see any physical damage on either of the boards and the game used to work fine.

    Is this likely an issues with the P Rom chips or something else entirely?

    Any help is greatly appreciated.

  2. #2

    Neo Alec's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    USA

    Posts
    8,171
    Clean the game and slots. If it's MVS, clear the backup ram.

  3. #3

  4. #4
    Paris-Dakar Rally Driver
    Dakar 2003
    Dilandau's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Southern California

    Posts
    67
    Quote Originally Posted by Xian Xi View Post
    Clean like mentioned, if it still does it, run a CRC check.
    Thank you both for the input. The cartridge has been cleaned with no improvement.

    Playing it in a MV-1C if that helps, other games work fine.

    I'll try clearing the backup RAM when I get home, is the CRC check something you can do without the unibios? With no cartridge inserted I get the cross hatch.

  5. #5
    SHOCKbox Developer
    BIG BEAR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Philadelphia,PA
    Posts
    7,058
    Is this a PROGLBA pcb or a PROBK1 pcb?
    BB
    In case of 'PM BOX FULL ANXIETY' , E-MAIL ME

    bigbearatdreamamusement.net replace "at" with an "@"

    I'd like to sincerely THANK everybody that supported SHOCKbox over the (EST 2001) 8 - 9 years I did it.
    is stocking the SHOCKbox right now!! They also have a huge library of SHOCKbox inserts for DL and or printing.
    LE GEEK SHOCKbox inserts

    I'm not protecting myself from you....I'M PROTECTING YOU FROM ME.
    SKYWAY PRO Keep this a secret!

  6. #6
    Paris-Dakar Rally Driver
    Dakar 2003
    Dilandau's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Southern California

    Posts
    67
    Quote Originally Posted by BIG BEAR View Post
    Is this a PROGLBA pcb or a PROBK1 pcb?
    BB
    It is the PROGLBA pcb.

    Clearing the backup RAM didn't seem to make any difference.

  7. #7
    SHOCKbox Developer
    BIG BEAR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Philadelphia,PA
    Posts
    7,058
    It could be your PG2 ROM bit it.
    BB
    In case of 'PM BOX FULL ANXIETY' , E-MAIL ME

    bigbearatdreamamusement.net replace "at" with an "@"

    I'd like to sincerely THANK everybody that supported SHOCKbox over the (EST 2001) 8 - 9 years I did it.
    is stocking the SHOCKbox right now!! They also have a huge library of SHOCKbox inserts for DL and or printing.
    LE GEEK SHOCKbox inserts

    I'm not protecting myself from you....I'M PROTECTING YOU FROM ME.
    SKYWAY PRO Keep this a secret!

  8. #8
    . wuemura's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2019
    Location
    Brazil

    Posts
    7
    Looks like it is a memory error related issue, first, check to see if the game plays ok in another hardware. Pay close attention to areas on the hardware that has electrolytic capacitors on it because they leak over time and when it does, it cut pads, tracks and do a whole mess on the board.
    Friends don't let friends play MAME

  9. #9
    SHOCKbox Developer
    BIG BEAR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Philadelphia,PA
    Posts
    7,058
    If you need somebody to take a look at it,drop me an e-mail....
    BB
    In case of 'PM BOX FULL ANXIETY' , E-MAIL ME

    bigbearatdreamamusement.net replace "at" with an "@"

    I'd like to sincerely THANK everybody that supported SHOCKbox over the (EST 2001) 8 - 9 years I did it.
    is stocking the SHOCKbox right now!! They also have a huge library of SHOCKbox inserts for DL and or printing.
    LE GEEK SHOCKbox inserts

    I'm not protecting myself from you....I'M PROTECTING YOU FROM ME.
    SKYWAY PRO Keep this a secret!

  10. #10
    Paris-Dakar Rally Driver
    Dakar 2003
    Dilandau's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Southern California

    Posts
    67
    Quote Originally Posted by BIG BEAR View Post
    If you need somebody to take a look at it,drop me an e-mail....
    BB
    Thank you, I appreciate it.


    For now though I think I'll try getting a replacement P1 and P2 Rom chip made. Am I understanding correctly that the M27C322-100F1 would be a drop in replacement for the mask roms?

  11. #11
    SHOCKbox Developer
    BIG BEAR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Philadelphia,PA
    Posts
    7,058
    Yes. The P1 and P2 require a 322. Make sure they are the encypted ones for the PROGBLA board. You can eliminate the PROGBLA board altogether if you burn the two unencrypted p1 and p2 roms and place them on a PROGBK1 board with your v roms and correct settings.
    In case of 'PM BOX FULL ANXIETY' , E-MAIL ME

    bigbearatdreamamusement.net replace "at" with an "@"

    I'd like to sincerely THANK everybody that supported SHOCKbox over the (EST 2001) 8 - 9 years I did it.
    is stocking the SHOCKbox right now!! They also have a huge library of SHOCKbox inserts for DL and or printing.
    LE GEEK SHOCKbox inserts

    I'm not protecting myself from you....I'M PROTECTING YOU FROM ME.
    SKYWAY PRO Keep this a secret!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •