Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Mega CD noise

  1. #1
    Ikari Warrior
    andsuchisdeath's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Massachusetts

    Posts
    6,523

    Mega CD noise

    I'm sure there could be many variables at play here, and perhaps this thread is being made prematurely but...

    The Mega drive 2 + mega cd 2 unit I've had since the summer produces a hissing noise (coming from the tv, not the unit). This is most noticeable when I'm playing a cartridge when the MD is attached to the cd unit. The noise is twice as loud if the power supply isn't plugged in. This noise is only noticeable whenever there is a portion of the game that isn't playing music, but what could be the deal?

    I've owned the mega drive unit for over 10 years, and these sounds only happen when connected to the mega cd.
    Last edited by andsuchisdeath; 02-13-2019 at 09:13 PM.

  2. #2
    Disciple Of Orochi
    neo_X7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    South, US

    Posts
    3,276
    This is going to sound stupid but clean the pins on the Mega Drive connector and the socket on the Mega CD where the two connect together.

  3. #3
    Ikari Warrior
    andsuchisdeath's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Massachusetts

    Posts
    6,523
    I'll try this!

  4. #4
    Disciple Of Orochi
    neo_X7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    South, US

    Posts
    3,276
    I had a US Sega CD model 2 paired with a Genesis model 1 do this to me in 1994 once.

  5. #5
    Kuroko's Training Dummy
    ginoscope's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Location
    Dallas, TX

    Posts
    75
    What power supply are you using? I have noticed odd behavior depending what power supply I use with my sega cd 1.

    Also are you using a good av cable that is shielded?

  6. #6
    I survived Secret Santa
    It wasn't Easy.
    JoeAwesome's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Texas

    Posts
    2,106
    Does the Mega CD 2 require all the shielding the Sega CD 2 has?

    Quote Originally Posted by Famicommander View Post
    Unify the IWGP Heavyweight, Jr Heavyweight...
    Spoiler:

  7. #7
    Ikari Warrior
    andsuchisdeath's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Massachusetts

    Posts
    6,523
    Quote Originally Posted by JoeAwesome View Post
    Does the Mega CD 2 require all the shielding the Sega CD 2 has?

    Uh oh, mine doesn't have metal shielding

  8. #8
    Tung's Hair Stylist
    segasonicfan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    CA

    Posts
    510
    I'm going to go off on a limb here and say you need to replace capacitors. The Sega Nomad has a similar problem when the large input capacitor hasn't been replaced for 20 years. Basically it's the RC filter Network for your power rails getting weaker at its job because the filter capacitors are drying out after decades.
    That's my rough diagnosis of it, anyway.
    MY WEBSITE:

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •