Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 133

Thread: MiSTer FPGA Neo Geo core

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Super Sidekicks 2
    Locutus73's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Italy

    Posts
    106

    MiSTer FPGA Neo Geo core

    MiSTer is an open-source project using a Terasic DE10-Nano FPGA dev board and some custom daughter boards to implement a retro computer/console/arcade FPGA multisystem.
    https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Main_MiSTer/wiki

    Furrtek is a French guy who is decapping, studying, documenting and reimplementing Neo Geo hardware through FPGA
    https://github.com/neogeodev/NeoGeoFPGA-sim

    In the end the two crossed their paths and this was born:
    https://github.com/furrtek/Neogeo_MiSTer
    https://github.com/furrtek/Main_MiSTer


    An early demo with no sound and many things to be implemented or addressed... but still impressing and things move fast in MiSTer land.
    Last edited by Locutus73; 01-26-2019 at 03:51 AM.
    Regards.

    Locutus73

  2. #2
    Moterator. theMot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    The island of shielas, wogs and poofters.

    Posts
    5,750
    Shart cable you reckon?
    Quote Originally Posted by greedostick View Post
    This place is a pool of toxic garbage. A bunch of old, grumpy, hateful, negative, hater assholes that don't even play Neo Geo.

  3. #3
    Pleasure Goal
    Gog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Earth

    Posts
    145
    Who doesn’t enjoy a shart?

    As long as it happens to someone else of course.
    Derp

  4. #4
    Moterator. theMot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    The island of shielas, wogs and poofters.

    Posts
    5,750
    Quote Originally Posted by Gog View Post
    Who doesn’t enjoy a shart?

    As long as it happens to someone else of course.

    No, I quite enjoy them myself, especially when I am far from home.

    Tell me Loctus friend, if I purchase this shart cable will I be able to shart on demand? If it doesn’t work, what is the refund policy?
    Quote Originally Posted by greedostick View Post
    This place is a pool of toxic garbage. A bunch of old, grumpy, hateful, negative, hater assholes that don't even play Neo Geo.

  5. #5
    Super Sidekicks 2
    Locutus73's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Italy

    Posts
    106
    Quote Originally Posted by theMot View Post
    Tell me Loctus friend, if I purchase this shart cable will I be able to shart on demand? If it doesnít work, what is the refund policy?
    No refund for sharted underwear.
    Regards.

    Locutus73

  6. #6
    Moterator. theMot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    The island of shielas, wogs and poofters.

    Posts
    5,750
    Quote Originally Posted by Locutus73 View Post
    No refund for sharted underwear.
    I would only be requesting the refund on the shart cable. I will of course clean it before sending back.
    Quote Originally Posted by greedostick View Post
    This place is a pool of toxic garbage. A bunch of old, grumpy, hateful, negative, hater assholes that don't even play Neo Geo.

  7. #7
    Mr. Tater

    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Xenia, OH

    Posts
    2,552
    Quote Originally Posted by Locutus73 View Post
    Furrtek
    Where you lost me. Not giving any money to furry dog fuckers.

    Jon
    http://card.psnprofiles.com/1/vegetagallitgun.png

    Quote Originally Posted by VanillaThunder View Post
    Moments like this make me feel much better as it means I'm not the only person on this site actually playing my games...

    I'm not placing them on a shelf for 4 months while I jack off to pedophilic dog hummels.

  8. #8
    Akari's Big Brother
    kuze's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    In the year 2248

    Posts
    2,506
    Cool to see the Neo Geo getting some love in FPGA land!

  9. #9
    Super Sidekicks 2
    Locutus73's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Italy

    Posts
    106
    Quote Originally Posted by Jon View Post
    Where you lost me. Not giving any money to furry dog fuckers.
    It’s an open source project, nobody gets money unless you don’t want to donate.
    Regards.

    Locutus73

  10. #10
    Stakes Winner

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    France

    Posts
    98
    Quote Originally Posted by Jon View Post
    Where you lost me. Not giving any money to furry dog fuckers.
    I only do goats. They're noisy but easier to dispose of.

  11. #11
    Super Sidekicks 2
    Locutus73's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Italy

    Posts
    106
    Quote Originally Posted by furrtek View Post
    I only do goats. They're noisy but easier to dispose of.
    Yeah, especially with some rosemary, garlic, olive oil, salt, pepper and some potatoes

    Great work man, kudos to you!
    Regards.

    Locutus73

  12. #12
    SouthTown StreetSweeper
    sparksterz's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Rochester, NY

    Posts
    567
    If I recall, weren't there concerns about overfilling the standard SDRAM expansion capacity?

  13. #13
    Super Sidekicks 2
    Locutus73's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Italy

    Posts
    106
    Quote Originally Posted by sparksterz View Post
    If I recall, weren't there concerns about overfilling the standard SDRAM expansion capacity?
    You recall it correctly, this is a work in progress and only time will tell if a new SDRAM will be needed.
    Regards.

    Locutus73

  14. #14
    The Chinese Kid Kid Panda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Panda Islandô

    Posts
    12,778
    Acktually..... a lot pcbs and games have inherent lag. Some games, suck as battle garegga have like 2 frames on lag on the hardware. It's all different across systems and games.

  15. #15
    If I could have
    My time back
    I'd keep it in ma' pants
    c0nn0r's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Canada

    Posts
    713
    Quote Originally Posted by Kid Panda View Post
    Acktually..... a lot pcbs and games have inherent lag. Some games, suck as battle garegga have like 2 frames on lag on the hardware. It's all different across systems and games.
    This is true. Ideally each game plays on MiSTer as it did on original hardware.

  16. #16
    Cham Cham's Banana
    Lee_Rekka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    SouthTown

    Posts
    160
    Quote Originally Posted by c0nn0r View Post
    This is true. Ideally each game plays on MiSTer as it did on original hardware.
    As far as I can tell, every game I've played on MiSTer does play and feel like the original. I've beat a ton of games on it that i'm used to playing on original hardware, like Contra Hard corps and Battletoads which both have very precise timing and I'm basically just using muscle memory to beat them, I had no issues at all.

  17. #17
    Host for Orochi
    titchgamer's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    United Kingdom

    Posts
    908
    I ordered a full setup a few weeks ago from ultimate mister.

    I think stock is usually low anyway from what I have seen but the virus has obv made things worse.

    But I preordered mine and it shipped a few days ago so I cant wait to have a tinker when it arrives

  18. #18
    Crazed MVS Addict

    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    UK

    Posts
    143
    Mister is great, but so much was and is out of stock that I am far from being able to try it out yet, as all the accessories are missing. Very disappointing frankly, but it's a pretty plastic brick.

    At least Analogue FPGA consoles are complete and ready to work out of the box. Mister far from it. As a result, I've had it a month but might as well not have bothered.

  19. #19
    The Chinese Kid Kid Panda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Panda Islandô

    Posts
    12,778
    Quote Originally Posted by Pinball View Post
    Mister is great, but so much was and is out of stock that I am far from being able to try it out yet, as all the accessories are missing. Very disappointing frankly, but it's a pretty plastic brick.

    At least Analogue FPGA consoles are complete and ready to work out of the box. Mister far from it. As a result, I've had it a month but might as well not have bothered.
    The base de-10 can play gba, Genesis, and pce/sg. That's like 200+ games. Not sure how it's just sitting in the box for you.

  20. #20
    Amakusa's Fashion Consultant
    ShootTheCore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    Logan UT USA

    Posts
    1,121
    I have a MiSTer 32 Meg SDRAM module that I’ll give away for the cost of shipping for anyone that can use it. That enables everything except a handful of the largest Neo Geo and GBA games.

  21. #21
    Rugal's Thug

    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    Albany, NY

    Posts
    92
    Quote Originally Posted by titchgamer View Post
    I ordered a full setup a few weeks ago from ultimate mister.

    I think stock is usually low anyway from what I have seen but the virus has obv made things worse.

    But I preordered mine and it shipped a few days ago so I cant wait to have a tinker when it arrives
    Which setup or what exactly did you order? I'd like to start playing around with this stuff and have no idea where to start.

  22. #22
    The Chinese Kid Kid Panda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Panda Islandô

    Posts
    12,778
    Quote Originally Posted by McColbo View Post
    Which setup or what exactly did you order? I'd like to start playing around with this stuff and have no idea where to start.

    So if you're going to just use it on a HDTV, just the DE-10, and maybe a USB board, otherwise you can use a USB breakout hub. Oh, you will need ram to run anything other than Genesis/GBA/TG-16 pretty much. get the 128 mb board.

  23. #23
    Rugal's Thug

    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    Albany, NY

    Posts
    92
    Quote Originally Posted by Kid Panda View Post
    So if you're going to just use it on a HDTV, just the DE-10, and maybe a USB board, otherwise you can use a USB breakout hub. Oh, you will need ram to run anything other than Genesis/GBA/TG-16 pretty much. get the 128 mb board.
    Awesome thanks, I plan on going to Component out eventually to my CRT, for now it'll be going to my HDTV assuming that's easier to set up?

  24. #24
    Unsure if You Asked
    For a custom Rank
    But Hell, why not.
    gusmoney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    illadelph Snail Trail aka the Pleasure Domes

    Posts
    1,569
    Now that Raz has released the Universal Bios v4, has anyone tried it with their NG core?

  25. #25
    The Chinese Kid Kid Panda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Panda Islandô

    Posts
    12,778
    Quote Originally Posted by McColbo View Post
    Awesome thanks, I plan on going to Component out eventually to my CRT, for now it'll be going to my HDTV assuming that's easier to set up?
    If you're deciding to go to a crt, you'll need the I/O board eventually.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •