Loose MVS Carts: Shoxcboxes or reproduction boxes?

dzhay

n00b
Couldn't find anything addressing this subject by searching, so here goes..

I'm new to collecting neo geo mvs carts. I've been able to pick up quite a few relatively rare older carts locally, but most of them don't have boxes or mini marquees let alone dip settings, flyers etc.

I need to store them somewhere better than a dusty cupboard. I'm tossing getting reproduction boxes, mini marquees and so forth (cheaper) or shockboxes (more expensive), for at least for the more valueable carts.

Before I go spunking my wad on either option, what do collectors generally prefer (accepting that, in this case, full matching originals in boxes are out of the question)?

Kid Panda

The Chinese Kid
I leave my carts on a shelf, bare. They are built to sit in cabs that get over 100 degrees and have no room to vent, pretty sure they will be ok. But if you feel you need to "protect your investement", which is what I see alot of from collectors lately. Go big, buy all the shockboxes you can, make them look like AES carts. Go for it man! Make everyone give you likes on facebook and Instagram, CAUSE FUCK PLAYING THE GAMES.

Gog

Krauser's Shoe Shiner
I hope you view your collection as much of a conversation starter as you do an investment.

dzhay

n00b
Conversation starter? I bought it for the bitches. Hence the urgency of the question.

Hawwa

B. Jenet's Firstmate
I'm in the same situation and decided to go for repro cardboard boxes that look like AES. Why? Because they look awesome in the shelf. I don't give a single fuck if someone thinks "that box is not the original one!" "MVS ain' supossed to look like that!" or the like. I buy original MVS games and play them on a MV1C because IMHO that mixes perfectly two things: not expending insane amounts of money but still getting the right way to play these games.

These are the boxes, they are around 7€ each if you buy im bulk from the guy.

Hawwa

B. Jenet's Firstmate