Sterilite storage bins

andsuchisdeath

General Morden's Aide
20 Year Member
Will they turn my consoles yellow? Or, should I say, will they expedite the inevitable process?

I've been using these for a few years...I just can't tell.

RAZO

Mayor of Southtown
15 Year Member
I think it matters how you store them but they still turn yellow over time anyways. As long as you store them in a dark place, it will delay the yellowing process but it still will yellow over time. I have a Dreamcast that has a slight hint of yellow which I had stored and I purchased it brand new. I compared it to the Saturn I recently Retro-bighted and I could see the difference.

Last edited:

FilthyRear

Neo-Geo.com's, Top Rated Bully.,
15 Year Member
I store my video game consoles in a claw-foot tub.

oliverclaude

General Morden's Aide
No, they'll turn yellow because of the fire retardant in the plastic, it's a toy after all.

On an other note: shelf-queen > sterilite-queen

GohanX

Horrible Goose
20 Year Member
No, they'll turn yellow because of the fire retardant in the plastic, it's a toy after all.

Yeah, pretty much. There doesn't have to be light around. I have a cabinet in my office that I keep consoles in that aren't being used and it's totally dark. I pulled out my old NES toaster after being in there for a few years and it's starting to yellow now, that sonofabitch. It's pretty much being stored in ideal conditions and it still happens.

GohanX

Horrible Goose
20 Year Member
Nobody knows 100% what environmental factors cause it, or why some systems yellow and others don't.

NeoSneth

Ned's Ninja Academy Dropout
20 Year Member
UV definitely accelerates the process, but i believe it happens regardless with certain plastics.

NeoSneth

20 Year Member
Would you say cardboard is safer by comparison?

Opaque is better, but it won't stop it altogether.

The main culprits are:
* Heat
* UV , CFL and sunlight
* Oxygen^