Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 33

Thread: “Strongest” Emulator Device

  1. #1
    New Challenger

    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    Wisconsin

    Posts
    22

    “Strongest” Emulator Device

    I’m waiting on my backed Dreamcade Replay. It is my first experience with any emulators.

    It is not strong enough to emulate GameCube etc.

    What is the strongest and most capable device that would be able to run “every” retro system emulation out there?

    Either a purchased complete device, board to put into a case or diy system to hook up to my hdtvs?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Schlonginator II: Judgment Dong
    GohanX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Next to your mom

    Posts
    9,788
    A PC.

  3. #3
    Formerly Raz_Hoe.
    RAZO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    New Jersey

    Posts
    6,215
    Quote Originally Posted by GohanX View Post
    A PC.
    +1

  4. #4
    Neo-Geo.com's
    Top Rated Bully.
    FilthyRear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Parking in handicap spaces, while handicapped people make handicapped faces

    Posts
    7,135
    Quote Originally Posted by GohanX View Post
    A PC.
    Quote Originally Posted by RAZO View Post
    +1
    You're both wrong.

    It's imagination.


    Quote Originally Posted by swlovinist View Post
    And this is why I don't post here more often. Some truly terrible posts here.
    Quote Originally Posted by TheSegaDude View Post
    There's a reason why I don't post much here...

  5. #5
    The Chinese Kid Kid Panda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Panda Island™

    Posts
    12,204
    yea a pc hands down
    Quote Originally Posted by DecepticonZero View Post
    I don't know why you're white knighting this guy, couldn't you buy the North Pole and have the elves build you anything you want?

  6. #6
    Gandalf Of Gibberish
    Karou's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    US

    Posts
    4,424
    Last edited by Karou; 07-11-2018 at 10:31 PM.
    .

  7. #7
    Igniz's Servant
    beigemore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Houston, Texas

    Posts
    539
    A PC definitely, but it really depends on what your budget is and what the highest end consoles are that you're wanting to emulate. Like a PS2 with nice upscaling and filters requires way more CPU power than doing Neo Geo -- and some people don't consider PS2 "retro", so it again depends on if that's what you're going for.

  8. #8
    New Challenger

    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    Wisconsin

    Posts
    22
    Quote Originally Posted by beigemore View Post
    A PC definitely, but it really depends on what your budget is and what the highest end consoles are that you're wanting to emulate. Like a PS2 with nice upscaling and filters requires way more CPU power than doing Neo Geo -- and some people don't consider PS2 "retro", so it again depends on if that's what you're going for.
    I would want to emulate “everything” up to the PS2 including the GameCube and Dreamcast and Saturn and segaCd 32x etc

    Price point is varied. I wouldn’t mind building a cheaper new rig to do it but if there is a good choice for an older used pc to do it I would be good with that.

  9. #9
    World's Greatest Poster Dr Shroom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    ᕕ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)ᕗ

    Posts
    18,766
    Yeah a PC, where else are you going to emulate the gamecube on? Gamecube/Wii emulation actually is somewhat demanding on the hardware at this point.


  10. #10
    BBLLOOOO__HHAARRDDDDDD!!!!
    Bogard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    LONDON

    Posts
    3,627
    non of my pc's were ever able to emulate anything past the n64. i tried to emulate the dreamcast last year and the pc just wasn't having it.

  11. #11
    The Chinese Kid Kid Panda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Panda Island™

    Posts
    12,204
    Quote Originally Posted by Bogard View Post
    non of my pc's were ever able to emulate anything past the n64. i tried to emulate the dreamcast last year and the pc just wasn't having it.
    Jesus, how old is your PC? I was running Gamecube and PS2 stuff flawlessly at 1080P with an AMD FX8350 and that is one of the most outdated CPUs made.
    Quote Originally Posted by DecepticonZero View Post
    I don't know why you're white knighting this guy, couldn't you buy the North Pole and have the elves build you anything you want?

  12. #12
    New Challenger

    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    Wisconsin

    Posts
    22
    The question still remains... what PC.

    My newish i5 can’t even run chrome without it having a nervous breakdown.

    I’ve watched ETA Prime on YouTube that claims to build emulator systems from old $30 systems.

  13. #13
    The Chinese Kid Kid Panda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Panda Island™

    Posts
    12,204
    Like I said earlier, I did it with a FX8350 and that CPU is long in the tooth. I have a 1700 Ryzen now and everything runs like a dream. Also, look at what he is running, not everything runs smooth on those builds. A core2duo will get you to about DC, but after that it's gonna chug on stuff.
    Last edited by Kid Panda; 07-13-2018 at 05:56 AM.
    Quote Originally Posted by DecepticonZero View Post
    I don't know why you're white knighting this guy, couldn't you buy the North Pole and have the elves build you anything you want?

  14. #14
    Armored Scrum Object
    titchgamer's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    United Kingdom

    Posts
    265
    Anything up to PS1 will run smoothly on pretty much any PC that can run XP.

    PS1 Ono requires more beef and very much depends what you are running.

    Demul for instance is pretty demanding.

    The newer you get the bigger CPU and GPU you will need.
    But not all emu’s correctly utilise multi cores so your best bet is to look at the requirements for the individual emus you want to run and go from there.

    Personally I dont Emulate anything newer than 32bit systems and they all run sound on a Pi.

  15. #15
    Schlonginator II: Judgment Dong
    GohanX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Next to your mom

    Posts
    9,788
    Quote Originally Posted by PrepVet View Post
    I’ve watched ETA Prime on YouTube that claims to build emulator systems from old $30 systems.
    You can, but you won't be emulating anything with 3D in it with something old. You can emulate most stuff up to Playstation well with a calculator these days, but you need some serious (by comparison) CPU/GPU power to do anything more. I used to use an old Dell Optiplex business computer that you can get for $50 all day online and it was fantastic for 2D Mame and any of the 2d consoles, but if you tried to do anything 3D with it you were looking at 1 frame per 5 seconds.

  16. #16
    Armored Scrum Object
    titchgamer's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    United Kingdom

    Posts
    265
    Some games are ridiculous resource hogs!

    Time crisis through mame for example.

    I can just about play it on my mame cab which is a 3ghz quad core with 8gig ram and 2x 512mb gfx cards in crossfire.

    Its glitches occasionally but just about runs on a rig that used to eat Crysis for dinner and want desert on top!

  17. #17
    drunk downunder!
    aka. Muff Diver.
    lachlan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    A Hard Earned Thirst

    Posts
    11,067
    Dreamcast emulation is basically perfect now and that goes for AW,Naomi etc as well. PS2 emulation is pretty good but not perfect across all titles. I had a go at a PS3 emulator that is incredibly slow even on 7th gen i7 7700k @ 4.8ghz, 16gb DDR4, GTX1080. It's getting there but PC is still king.



    !!

  18. #18
    赤裸裸的汽車人
    Tripredacus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Buffalo

    Posts
    4,022
    Quote Originally Posted by PrepVet View Post
    My newish i5 can’t even run chrome without it having a nervous breakdown.
    That's not because of your specs. It is because (over the years) Chrome has turned into a pile of trash.

    dude, you're awful at this, you didn't even tried.
    This forum requires that you wait 60 seconds between posts. Please try again in 1 seconds.

  19. #19
    New Challenger

    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    Wisconsin

    Posts
    22
    So what would be a minimum spiced PC to run emulation for GameCube, PS2, Saturn etc?

  20. #20
    The Chinese Kid Kid Panda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Panda Island™

    Posts
    12,204
    FX8350. 970 Geforce.
    Quote Originally Posted by DecepticonZero View Post
    I don't know why you're white knighting this guy, couldn't you buy the North Pole and have the elves build you anything you want?

  21. #21
    赤裸裸的汽車人
    Tripredacus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Buffalo

    Posts
    4,022
    For saturn you can start here:
    http://emulation.gametechwiki.com/in...turn_emulators
    It seems SSF is the better of the bunch, but these programs don't really put down the system requirements. For that console generation, it looks like having a quad core 3GHz+ CPU is recommended.

    dude, you're awful at this, you didn't even tried.
    This forum requires that you wait 60 seconds between posts. Please try again in 1 seconds.

  22. #22
    We have purposely
    trained him wrong
    ...as a joke.
    ChuChu Flamingo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    US

    Posts
    1,984
    I don't think you need that good of a graphics card until you get into late gen stuff like Cemu, Citra, RPCS3 etc. A lot of stuff seems to be heavily cpu bound unless you do crazy stuff like 4k resolution.

    Definitely spot on about the quad core though.

    Kinda hard to recommend stuff without a budget.
    Last edited by ChuChu Flamingo; 07-13-2018 at 03:22 PM.


    he spends hundreds on scarves, of course he's a fag and then ChuChu Flamingo preserved the aftermath in a plastic case making sure it wasn't exposed to unstable air
    You're just upset that you're too goddam stupid to understand the games and whiff infinites.
    Nintendo 64 Pikachu Edition Serial #NS294668665 Nintendo 64 "Funtastic Series" Jungle Green Serial #NS28721865

  23. #23
    BBLLOOOO__HHAARRDDDDDD!!!!
    Bogard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    LONDON

    Posts
    3,627
    Quote Originally Posted by Kid Panda View Post
    Jesus, how old is your PC? I was running Gamecube and PS2 stuff flawlessly at 1080P with an AMD FX8350 and that is one of the most outdated CPUs made.
    it's a windows seven pro. it's ok, i could fire up mame, genesis and ps1 emulators, so i'm alright.

  24. #24
    Franco's Trainer
    WoodyXP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    San Antonio, TX

    Posts
    3,577
    Here is the strongest emulator device.


  25. #25

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •