Neo Geo CD - Strangest Issue with Video outs

superfry63

Kuroko's Training Dummy
Hi There,

Noob here and apologies in advance for the massive first post, but I like to include what I have done so far as to help pinpoint the issue.

I have a Neo Geo CD top loader and everything works great except the video outs. I only have RCA and an S-video cable to test at this time but here is what happens:

-If I use just the Yellow RCA I get weird interference going up the screen. It's almost like another layer on top of the graphics (which look fine) which just flies up from the bottom of the screen and repeats when it gets to the top.

However, if I plug in the L/R RCA jacks into the same TV - it goes away like 95% (you would really have to sit close and look hard)

But, if you plug the audio in else where, lets say a receiver or something other than that TV, its just as bad as only using the video out RCA.

-The same applies for the S-Video out... As long as the sound is going to the same TV it's fine.

Here is something else I noticed. If I run the S-video into the TV, but the Audio else where, yes it looks bad, but then If I also run the Yellow RCA Video out to that TV on a completely different input (i.e. S Video is on Video 1, and this RCA Video out is plugged into Video 3) It's fine!

Is this some sort of ground issue? I did open up the system and reflow the solder on the RCA and S-Video Grounds, but no improvement. It also seems that the shorter the cables the better.

One other thing I will note is that it is not an original PSU. It's a HDD power supply that does 5v and 12v for 2A each. I checked with a multimeter and the specs are pretty much bang on, but maybe the 12V is too high and needs to be brought down to 10V?

I've tested all this on multiple tv's different RCA and S-Video cables, not sure what to check next.